2018 Nigeria Sports Awards: Akhator, Musa, Quadri Win

2018 Nigeria Sports Awards: Akhator, Musa, Quadri Win

D'Tigress star Evelyn Akhator, table tennis star Aruna Quadri and Super Eagles forward Ahmed Musa are among the winners who emerged at the 2018 Nigeria Sports Awards held at the Banquet Hall of the Eko Hotels on Friday.

Akhator, who helped Nigeria to the quarter-finals of the 2018 FIBA Women's World Cup in Spain, was voted Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year and Basketball Player of the Year while Quadri won the Outstanding Sportsman of the Year award ahead of D'Tigers captain Ike Diogu and Musa, who won the Footballer of the Year.

Esther Onyema won the Special Sports Person of the Year.

Sprinter Joy Udo-Gabriel won the Discovery of the Year while Adekuoroye won the Wrestler of the Year award.

Squash player Yemisi Olatunji won the Racket Sports of the Year beating Quadri and Marylove Edwards.

D'Tigress won the team of the Year ahead of the Super Eagles and Nigeria's Bobsled team while Seun Adigun won the Team Sports Person of the Year.

Tobi Amusan won the Track and Field Sports Person of the Year and Feyisetan Are won the Coach of the Year after edging out Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr and D'Tigress coach Otis Hughley.

Gowon Akpodonor of The Guardian won the Journalist of the Year ahead of The PUNCH's Tana Aiyejina and Oluwashina Okeleji of the BBC. George Essien won the Journalist of the Year.

President Badminton Federation of Nigeria Francis Orbih was awarded the Sports Administrator of the Year.

The Sports Governor of the Year was also won by Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike.

Photo: Brila

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here