2019 AFCON Qualifier: Ghana coach Appiah unveils squad for Ethiopia clash

2019 Afcon Qualifier : Ghana coach Appiah unveils squad for Ethiopia clash

Head Coach of Ghana Black Stars, Kwesi Appiah has unveiled his 20-man squad for their 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying tie against Ethiopia.

The squad is said to be made up of two goalkeepers, six defenders, eight midfielder and four strikers.

It may interest you to know that the Ayew brothers – Andre Dede and Jordan Ayew – have been recalled into the team following a year time away.

The brothers last featured for Ghana on September 11, 2017.

The four-time African champions will play as guest to the Waliyas of Ethiopia at the Addis-Ababa National Stadium scheduled to take place on November 18, 2018, at 13:00 GMT.

The Black Stars need nothing short of victory to increase their chances of qualifying as they lie third in Group F with 3 points after two games.

Ghana’s doubleheader vs the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone last month failed to hold as the latter’s Anti-corruption commission rejected FIFA’s demands to have Isha Johansen and Christopher Kamara reinstated as the President and General Secretary of the Football Association respectively.

However, it remains uncertain whether Ghana will be handed six points or the game would be replayed.

Ghana Black Stars Full Squad Below:

GOALKEEPERS: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa) Lawrence Ati Zigi (Sochaux, France)

DEFENDERS: Afful Harrison (Columbus Crew, U.S.A), Lumor Agbenyenu (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal), Andy Yiadom (Reading FC, England) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, U.S.A) John Boye (FC Metz, France) Kassim Nuhu (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

MIDFIELDERS: Christian Atsu ( Newcastle United, England) Mubarak Wakkasu (Deportivo Alaves, Spain) Kwadwo Asamoah (Inter Milan, Italy) , Majeed Ashimeru ( St Gallen, Switzerland), Andre Ayew (Fenerbache, Turkey), Nana Ampomah (Waasland Beveren, Switzerland), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli FC, Italy) Thomas Partey (Athletico Madrid, Spain)

FORWARDS: Majeed Waris (FC Nantes, France), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England) Asamoah Gyan (FC Kaserispor, Turkey) Emmanuel Boateng (Levante FC, Spain)

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here