2019 CAF Awards: Ighalo Out, Oshoala, Osimhen In – SEE FULL LIST

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released its final contenders for the 28th edition of its annual football awards, with Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, and Asisat Oshoala as the representatives for Nigeria.

While Odion Ighalo failed to make the final cut, Liverpool’s duo of Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah and Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez will contend for the men’s player of the year category.

The list, which was published on CAF’s website on Sunday, was decided by votes from the football body’s technical and development committee and a panel of media experts with an emphasis on the nominees’ performance during the year under review.

In the youth category, Osimhen and Chukwueze made the final three, while Oshoala, Thembi Kgtlana of South Africa and Cameroon’s Ajara Nchout will contend for the best women’s player category.

The award winners for each category will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony on Tuesday, January 7, 2020, at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt.

The event will celebrate African footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves during 2019.

There will also be several new award categories in recognition of exceptional contributions to African football and inspiring individuals.

See Also | African Cup Of Nations: All The Records & Statistics Detailed

The top three (3) contenders for all the categories are as follows:

African Player of the Year

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year

  • Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

  • Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  • Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)
  • Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year

  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

African Men’s Coach of the Year

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
  • Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
  • Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)

African Women’s Coach of the Year

  • Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year

  • Algeria
  • Madagascar
  • Senegal

African Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here