AFCONQ: Emmanuel Adebayor gets surprise recall to Togo squad for Algeria clash

Afcon 2019 Qualifier: Emmanuel Adebayor gets surprise recall to Togo squad for Algeria clash

Emmanuel Adebayor has been given a surprise recall to Togo national team after rejecting last month’s call-up for their 2019 AFCON qualifiers.

The Former Arsenal striker did not play against The Gambia in Lome because of the poor state of the artificial playing surface and did not travel for the return match either.

LeRoy said he fully understood the player’s decision, but it remains unclear whether Adebayor will face Algeria on the same artificial pitch on home soil.

The Frenchman also recalled Africa-based Ouro-Akoriko Sadate and Wilson Akakpo, with both replacing the suspended duo of Djene Dakonam and Ouro-Sama Hakim for the crucial match on 18 November.

The Sparrow Hawks need a victory at home to upstage Group D leaders Algeria in their penultimate match of 2019 Nations Cup qualifying.

Without the veteran forward, Togo earned a 1-1 draw in Lome before winning the return fixture 1-0 in The Gambia in October.

The results left Togo third in the group with five points from four matches – just two behind the leaders Algeria and Benin.

Togo 2019 AFCON qualifier squad:

Goalkeepers: Sabirou Bassa Djeri (Coton Sport, Cameroon), Malcolm Barcola (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Fadil Soumanou (Koroki)

Defenders: Wilson Akakpo (Al Ittihad, Egypt), Bilali Akoro (AS OTR), Simon Gbegnon (AS Beziers, France), Maklibé Kouloum (Dyto Lome), Tevi Steve Lawson (Livingstone, Scotland), James Olufade (Union Douala, Cameroon), Ouro-Akoriko Sadate (Amazulu FC, South Africa)

Midfielders: Lalawele Atakora (FK Qabala, Azerbaijan), Koffi Franco Atchou (Fremad Amager, Denmark), Floyd Ayite (Fulham, England), Ihlas Bebou (Hannover 96, Germany), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France), Matthieu Dossevi (Toulouse, France), Gilles Sunu (Erzurumspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (İstanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Kevin Denkey (Nimes, France), Kodjo Fo-Doh Laba (Renaissance Berkane, Morocco), Peniel Mlapa (VVV Venlo, Netherlands), Bodzroma Jean (Koroki), Kossi Koudagba (ASC Kara)

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here