African Player of the Year 2018: Salah retains title, Oshoala dethroned

African Player of the Year 2018: Salah retains title, Oshoala dethroned

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah has once more won the African Player of the Year 2018.

While Salah is keeping the desirable award for the second time in a row, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala has been dethroned as the best female player on the continent.

Last year, the 26-year-old, became the first Egyptian player to win the CAF Best Player Award since the introduction of the event in 1992.

SEE ALSO: Why Man United Must offload Ashley Young and replace him with someone younger

With the Egyptian keeping the award in 2018, he has joined the likes of El Hadji Diouf from Senegal (2001, 2002), Samuel Eto’o from Cameroon (2003, 2004) and Yaya Toure from Ivory Coast (2011, 2012), who won the African Player of the Year awards twice in a row.

In the Women category, Thembi Kgatlana was voted as African Women’s Player of the Year 2018 ahead of the Nigerian duo of Oshoala and Francisca Ordega.

Oshoala was looking for a fourth win after her first three victories in 2014, 2016, and 2017 but that was not to be in Dakar last night.

SEE ALSO: Top 3 players Who Could replace Cesc Fabregas at Chelsea

The Super Falcons won the first award of the night as they were voted as the Best National Women Team for the Year in review.

In the male category, the Super Eagles were not even nominated and it was won by Mauritania who for the first time in their history qualified for the Africa Cup of Nations in style in 2018.

Despite the fact that Super Falcons Coach Thomas Dennerby was nominated, it was South Africa’s Desiree Ellis who emerged the African Women’s Coach of the Year 2018.

For the Men’s Coach of the Year 2018, Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr did not appear in the final shortlist and it was the coach of Morocco, Herve Renard, who was crowned as the continent’s best gaffer.

SEE ALSO: How Rohr Was Issued German Passport Thirty Five Years After Giving Up

Borussia Dortmund and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi beat Super Eagles’ Wilfred Ndidi to the Young Player of the Year Award.

As for the Goal of the Year, which is a new addition to the CAF Awards, South African female striker, Kgatlana’s goal was the one voted for as winner.

Ydnekatchew Tessema Trophy for the Federation President of the Year was won by Fouzi Lekjaa president of the Federation Royale Marocaine de Football.

Several Nigeria football fans were heartbroken as no player from the country made the cut for Africa Best XI for 2018.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here