AITEO Cup 2019: Enyimba, Rangers, Akwa United Crash Out

AITEO Cup 2019

The Nigeria Professional League Champions, Enyimba International Football Club of Aba have been knocked out of the 2019 edition of AITEO Cup.

The People’s Elephant got a shocking 3-2 loss to Lagos-based side, Smart City yesterday.

SEE ALSO: Enugu Rangers Ready To Defend Federation Cup Title – Ezeaku

Former NPFL champions, Enugu Rangers also lost 2-0 to Lobi Stars of Markurdi at the Bako Kontagora Stadium, Minna.

EFCC FC also defeated Sunshine Stars of Akure by 1-0, just as Aklosnedi booted out Nasarawa United out of the competition by a lone goal.

Also, Rivers United sent Akwa United packing courtesy of a 3-0 win at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium to seal their place in Round of 16 of the competition.

Former NPFL side, Kwara United defeated Crown FC 5-3 on penalties after ending 1-1 in regulation time.

Bendel Insurance pounded Ekiti United 4-1, while 3SC of Ibadan sent Katsina United packing with two unreplied goals, as Gombe United lost by a lone goal to Niger Tornadoes.

In the women’s category, current champions,  Rivers Angels will on Friday tackle Adamawa Queens in Makurdi, while FC Robo will be up against Sunshine Queens in Osogbo and Nasarawa Amazons will battle with Pelican Stars in Enugu.

Fortress Ladies look to secure victory against Confluence Queens in Ado-Ekiti, while Osun Babes will face Delta Queens in Ijebu-Ode.

Abia Angels, on the other hand, must get past Ibom Angels in Abakaliki.


  • SmartCity FC 3-2 Enyimba
  • Ambassador FC 0-1 Warri Wolves
  • Gateway FC 0-2 Abia Warriors
  • Crown FC 1-1 Kwara United
  • Calabar Rovers 1-1 Wikki Tourists
  • (Calabar Rovers 4-2 penalties)
  • Ekiti United 2-4 Insurance
  • Delta Force 0-0 Cynosure FC
  • Cynosure FC 11-10 penalties)

SEE ALSO: Lobi Stars Head Coach Solomon Ogbeide Slumps & Dies


Warri Wolves, Aklosendi United, El-Kanemi Warriors, Lobi Stars, Abia Warriors, Bendel Insurance, Rivers United, Cynosure FC, Niger Tornadoes, Shooting Stars, EFCC FC (FCT), Smart City FC, Kwara United, Calabar Rovers

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here