Aiteo NFF Award 2018: Musa Wins Player Of The Year Award, Onome Takes Women’s Player Of The Year Prize

Aiteo NFF Award

Super Eagles forward Ahmed Musa has been named the Player of the Year at the Aiteo NFF Award that took place on Monday, April 1 at the Eko Hotel and Suites.

Super Falcons defender Onome Ebi was honoured with the prize for the Women's Player of the Year at the second edition of the annual awards' ceremony.

SEE ALSO: Why I Snubbed Barcelona Transfer – Odion Ighalo

Musa won the big award of the night after playing a huge part in Nigeria's biggest football moment of 2018.

The 26-year-old scored a brace to give Nigeria a 2-0 win over Iceland in the second group game of the 2018 FIFA World Cup to give them a chance to progress to the next round although they failed to do so.

With those goals, Musa became Nigeria's highest goalscorer at the World Cup with four goals.

His first goal against Iceland was also named Goal of the Year at the Aiteo NFF Award.

Veteran defender Ebi was superbly good at the back to help the Super Falcons retain the 2018 Africa Women's Cup of Nations title in Ghana.

SEE ALSO: Ahmed Musa slams the BBC African footballer of the year award for snubbing Nigerian players

Her performances at the tournament earned her the only onfield Nigerian player to make the Team of the Tournament.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here