Argentina starting XI for Nigeria World Cup clash leaks

Argentina will be going into today’s match knowing only three points will be enough to help them qualify for the knockout stages after a disastrous start in the group, reports.

The two time World Cup winners drew 1-1 with Iceland in their opening game and were then convincingly beaten 3-0 by Croatia.

But a win over Nigeria could put them in the last 16 if Iceland falls short of beating Croatia.

Changes to the Argentina line-up by coach Jorge Sampaoli were expected and reports suggest he has dropped some players.

According to La Nacion, here is Argentina starting XI against Nigeria :

  1. Franco Armani
  2. Gabriel Mercado
  3. Nicolas Otamendi
  4. Marcos Rojo
  5. Nicolas Tagliafico
  6. Enzo Perez
  7. Javier Mascherano
  8. Ever Banega
  9. Angel Di Maria
  10. Lionel Messi
  11. Gonzalo Higuain
  • Goalkeeper Willy Caballero has been dropped obviously because of his huge error against Croatia and replaced by Franco Armani.
  • In defense, Manchester United defender Marcos Rojo comes into the side in a back four.
  • In midfield, reported Arsenal target Ever Banega is set to start.
  • And in the attack, Messi will be joined by Higuain and Angel Di Maria with Sergio Aguero dropped.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here