Ballon d’Or Winners List: From 1956 to Present Day

Ballon d'Or Winners List


What will the Ballon d’Or Winners List look like? Obviously you are going to see Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo’s names repeatedly mentioned!

FIFA Ballon d’Or award is the most distinguished individual award in football and it is conferred on the best player in the world every year.

The Ballon d’Or award began back in 1956 and it was called “European Player Of the year award” and only the players from Europe were qualified for this award.

But In 1995 the rules were adjusted and any player playing for European club could win it.

And in 2010 the Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year were married, with the world’s best player awarded the FIFA Ballon d’Or, which any footballer from any part of the world can win it.

But in 2016, France Football stated that their partnership with FIFA had come to an end and that they would revive the Ballon d’Or award, the 2016 edition became the 61st award.

In 2018, the first women’s Ballon d’Or award was presented and was known as the Ballon d’Or Féminin.

Ronaldo and Messi have each won the Ballon d’Or award a record five times, with four players each having claimed it on three occasions: Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini and Marco van Basten.

SEE ALSO: Highest Goal Scorers in Champions League (2018/19) – The Complete List

Now let’s take a look at the all past winners of Ballon d’Or, or is it FIFA Ballon d’Or award?

Ballon d’Or Winners List

1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool
1957Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1959Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1960Luis Suárez SpainBarcelona
1961Omar Sívori ItalyJuventus
1962Josef Masopust CzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1963Lev Yashin Soviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1964Denis Law ScotlandManchester United
1965Eusébio PortugalBenfica
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1967Flórián Albert HungaryFerencv rosi TC
1968George Best Northern IrelandManchester United
1969Gianni Rivera ItalyMilan
1970Gerd Müller GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1973Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1974Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1975Oleg Blokhin Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1976Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1977Allan Simonsen DenmarkBorussia M”nchengladbach
1978Kevin Keegan EnglandHamburg
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1980Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1981Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1982Paolo Rossi ItalyJuventus
1983Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1984Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1985Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1986Igor Belanov Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1987Ruud Gullit NetherlandsAC Milan
1988Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1989Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1990Lothar Matthäus GermanyInter Milan
1991Jean-Pierre Papin FranceMarseille
1992Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1993Roberto Baggio ItalyJuventus
1994Hristo Stoichkov BulgariaBarcelona
1995George Weah LiberiaAC Milan
1996Matthias Sammer GermanyBorussia Dortmund
1997Ronaldo BrazilInter Milan
1998Zinedine Zidane FranceJuventus
1999Rivaldo BrazilBarcelona
2000Luís Figo PortugalReal Madrid
2001Michael Owen EnglandLiverpool
2002Ronaldo BrazilReal Madrid
2003Pavel Nedvěd Czech RepublicJuventus
2004Andriy Shevchenko UkraineAC Milan
2005Ronaldinho BrazilBarcelona
2006Fabio Cannavaro ItalyReal Madrid/Juventus
2007Kaká BrazilAC Milan
2008Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalManchester United
2009Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2010Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2011Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2012 Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2013Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalReal Madrid
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldPortugalReal Madrid
2018Luka Modric (Current Holder)CroatiaReal Madrid

SEE ALSO: Europa League Winners – The Complete List Since Inception

WATCH: Lionel Messi Launches Debut Clothing Line

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Oseg Hale

Written by Oseg Hale

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *