BBC African Footballer Of The Year opens in Lagos

BBC African Footballer Of The Year opens in Lagos

Having finished with the 2018 World Cup, football fans across the world will be able to vote for their favourite African footballer of the year, as the show launches from Lagos on the 17th November.

Every year, the BBC celebrates Africa’s finest footballers with a prestigious award.

In 2017, it was the unrivaled Mohammed Salah who took home the prize. His predecessors include some of Africa’s finest footballers, such as Riyadh Mahrez, Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba as well as Jay-Jay Okocha.

But, now the question is who will join this illustrious line-up and succeed Mohammed Salah?

The five shortlisted players will be made public in a special BBC African Footballer of the Year programme from Lagos and London at 1800 GMT on 17th November.

The special programme can be watched on BBC World News television (DStv 400), whilst radio listeners can catch the events as they unfold on BBC World Service radio.

Hosts  Isaac Fanin and  Mimi Fawaz will be joined by special guests including former Nigerian international Peter Odemwingie, Egypt and Stoke star Sarah Essam, and a former captain of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabriel Zakuani.

To vote and keep up-to-date with all the latest BBC African Footballer of the Year news, fans can visit the website @ and search #BBCAFOTY on social media.

Voting opens at 1900 GMT on 17th November and closes on Sunday 2nd December at 2000 GMT.

The winner will be unveiled live during on BBC World News and BBC World Service on Friday 14th December.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

⁕⁕⁕See The Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com⁕⁕⁕

Notify me of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments