CAF Awards 2018: Alex Iwobi tops list of African best player

Alex Iwobi tops list of African best player

Super Eagles forward, Alex Iwobi is top on the list of 10 players shortlisted for the CAF player of the year 2018 Award.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on their official website on Friday released a spick and span list of nominees as the CAF Awards 2018 gathers momentum.

Ahmed Musa and the Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr, have both dropped out of the CAF Awards 2018 nominees race.

The Super Falcons' coach, Thomas Dennerby, is being nominated together with two others in the Women's Coach of the Year category.

The Super Falcons who only just won their ninth African title, have been nominated for Women's National Team of the Year.

The final phase will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, as well as Coaches and Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

The CAF Awards 2018 Gala, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will hold on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

Click to see the complete list of CAF Awards 2018 nominees.

See CAF Awards 2018 Full Shortlists

African Player of the Year

  1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  2. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
  3. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  4. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  5. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  8. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  9. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  10. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Women’s Player of the Year

  1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  5. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  6. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  7. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
  8. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  9. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  10. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
  11. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of the Year

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  2. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  3. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year

  1. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  2. Herve Renard (Morocco)
  3. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of the Year

  1. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  2. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
  3. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year

  1. Madagascar
  2. Mauritania
  3. Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year

  1. Cameroon
  2. Nigeria
  3. South Africa

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here