Complete List of countries that have qualified for AFCON 2019

Complete List of countries that have qualified for AFCON 2019

On Saturday, the Super Eagles of Nigeria joined other African national teams to qualify for the 2019 Africa Nations Cup which will be hosted next summer in Cameroon.

The total number of countries that have qualified so far are Nigeria, Uganda, Mali, and Morocco.

The Eagles played out a 1-1 draw with South Africa in Soweto, Uganda edged Cape Verde 1-0 in Kampala, Mali beat Gabon in Libreville and Morocco went through after rivals, Malawi, lost in Comoros.

Nigeria, who had failed to qualify for the last two editions, were ahead in South Africa within nine minutes when Buhle Mkhwanazi scored an own goal.

Percy Tau set up the equaliser for Lebo Mothiba on 26 minutes, but the hosts were fortunate as several contentious offside decisions went against the three-time former champions.

A total of nine nations have now booked places at the newly-extended 24-team finals, with hosts Cameroon, Madagascar, Senegal, Egypt and Tunisia securing berths before this weekend.

This article was most recently revised and updated 1 year ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here