Ighalo, Ndidi, Osimhen Listed For CAF Awards 2019

Ighalo CAF Awards 2019

Super Eagles trio, Odion Ighalo, Wilfred Ndidi and Victor Osimhen have been listed for the African Player of the Year for 2019.

Ighalo finished as top scorer of the 2019 AFCON in Egypt, Leicester City star Ndidi has been consistent for both club and country, while Osimhen has taken the French Ligue 1 by storm.

Other notable nominees include Liverpool stars Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah as well as Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Riyad Mahrez, who have previously bagged the prestigious award.

Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze are also in the running for the African Young Player Award, while multiple winner Asisat Oshoala leads Uchenna Kalu and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie for the women’s player award.

The Super Eagles have also been nominated for the National Team of the Year prize along with reigning African champions Algeria and Eagles coach Gernot Rohr and former Super Falcons coach Thomas Dennerby have also been listed for awards.

See Also | Arnold Schwarzenegger Gives Cristiano Ronaldo New Nickname

The awards ceremony will be staged on January 7, 2020, in Egypt.

See Complete List Of CAF African Player Of The Year Nominees Below:

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
  2. André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
  3. Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd)
  4. Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah)
  5. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  6. Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain)
  7. Ferjani Sassi (Tunisia & Zamalek)
  8. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
  9. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain)
  10. Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)
  11. Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace)
  12. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
  13. Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain)
  14. Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa)
  15. Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
  16. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  17. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
  18. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
  19. Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal)
  20. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)
  21. Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge)
  22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  23. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  24. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  25. Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
  26. Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid)
  27. Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
  28. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
  29. Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
  30. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Efe Bridget

Written by Efe Bridget

Efe Bridget is a writer at GoalBall. She is a graduate of Mass Communication with 12 years of experience working with reputable publications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *