Iwobi Misses BBC African Footballer of The Year Shortlist

Iwobi Miss BBC African Footballer of The Year Shortlist announced

The five-man shortlist for the BBC African Footballer of The Year has been announced Saturday evening.

Liverpool pair Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and Sadio Mane (Senegal) made the BBC cut along with Morocco's Mehdi Benatia, Senegal's  Kalidou Kouliibaly and Atletico Madrid's Thomas Partey who is one of Ghana's most reliable player.

Austin Jay Jay Okocha is the only Nigerian to have won the BBC prize which has given the Confederation of African Football (CAF) version of the award a run for its money.

The vote for the players nominated opened on Saturday, 17 November and closes on Sunday, 2 December.

Vote result and the winner will be made known in a programme on BBC World News on Friday, 14 December the BBC website informed on Saturday evening.

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of African football expert albeit the names of the former stars were not revealed by the BBC website.

Liverpool forward Salah won the BBC African Footballer of The Year award in 2017.

Aside Salah, other African winners of the gong include Didier Drogba, Michael Essien, Yaya Toure, Jay-Jay Okocha and Riyad Mahrez.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here