Lionel Messi’s Two-Match Ban Appeal Rejected By Spanish FA

Messi's Two-Match Ban Appeal

Lionel Messi’s appeal as regards his two-match ban for striking an opponent in the Super Cup final has been rejected after the Spanish FA.

Barcelona FC made the bid to have the suspension dismissed despite footage showing Messi lashing out at Athletic Bilbao’s Asier Villalibre in the final moments of the 3-2 final defeat.

The suspension means Messi will now miss Barcelona’s LaLiga clash with Elche on Sunday, having already served the first part of the ban by sitting out Thursday’s win over Cornella in the Copa del Rey.

Messi’s sending off at the weekend was his first red card of his Barcelona career, and will miss the club’s important league clash at the weekend.

SEE ALSO | Oshoala Torments Rayo Vallecano In Barcelona’s 7-0 Win

Referee Gil Manzano said in his match report that Messi hit his opponent with ‘excessive force’ while the ball was not near him.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Subscribe
Notify me of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments