LMA Premier League Manager of the Year: Pep Guardiola Wins

The LMA Premier League Manager of the Year has been handed to Pep Guardiola by the League Managers Association.

Guardiola built on last year's third-place finish by dominantly steering the Citizens to the title, becoming the first side in Premier League history to rack up 100 points in the process.

Manchester City finished 19 points clear of second-placed Manchester United and also broke records for a number of Premier League wins and goals scored this term.

While being presented with the LMA Premier League Manager of the Year award on Tuesday night, the Spaniard said: “All the other managers deserve this. They had an amazing season. You have to choose one, I was this one.

“We played good and we are happy for that. Of course, always I think the records are a consequence of our game, our consistency. To make these type of numbers you have to be solid for months, and not just a short period.

“I am at a fantastic club – it is a family. The organization is excellent. I was at Barcelona and Bayern Munich. Manchester City – I feel at home. The investment was so important and the quality of our players made the difference. When I was a little boy I always say England was a little bit like a paradise.

“Everybody wants to be here. I want to say thank you to the Premier League for giving me the opportunity to be here, to share with my family, living here in England. The last 10 years nobody has won back-to-back so that is the challenge.”

Guardiola has also been listed on a six-man shortlist for the LMA Manager of the Year award together with Jurgen Klopp, Sean Dyche, Nuno Espirito Santo, Neil Warnock and John Coleman.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here