Musa, Iwobi, Oshoala Shortlisted For 2018 African Best Player Award

Musa, Iwobi, Oshoala And Co Shortlisted For 2018 African Best Player Award

Confederation of African Football have shortlisted three Nigerian stars for this year's CAF African Player of the Year award set for Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday, January 8, 2019.

Arsenal star Alex Iwobi, Al Nassr's Ahmed Musa and Chinese based forward Odion Ighalo are the Super Eagles players who made the 34 man list.

The shortlist, which has been compiled by a panel of African football experts, comprises Medhi Benatia, Kalidou Koulibaly, Thomas Partey, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah.

According to the football governing body, the winners for the African Player of the Year and Women's Player of the Year will be decided by the CAF Technical & Development Committee, Media Experts, Legends.

Other categories including the Youth Player of the Year, Men's Coach of the Year, Women's Coach of the Year, Men's National Team of the Year and Women's National Team of the Year will be elected by the Body's Technical & Development Committee.

Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup will vote.

Kanu Nwankwo was the last Nigerian star to win the award during his reign at Arsenal football club in 1999. He beat Samuel Kuffour and Ibrahima Bakayoko to emerge the winner over 19 years back.

Liverpool duo of Mohammed Salah and Sadio Mane top the list of players nominated for 2018 BBC best African footballer.

Since its inception in 1992, 20 players have won the award and Ghanaian footballer Abedi Pele was the inaugural winner of the award 26 years ago.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here