Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer: Complete List (1990 Till Date)

Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer


Who is Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer? To clear the air on this question that appears to be confusing to some fans, I have detailed who the Nigeria Premier League top scorers are and who currently occupies that position.

The Nigerian Professional Football League is the highest level of the football league system in Nigeria, for the Nigerian Club-football Championships and is organized by the League Management Company (LMC).

Hey, look here and you’ll know who is the highest paid player in Nigeria premier league.

The NPFL was in earlier times known as the Nigerian Premier League as of the 2012/2013 Season from the 2003/2004 Season.

Before then it was known as “Nigerian Premiership” (2000–2003). And it was between 1993-2000 that it was first called “Nigerian Premier League”.

“Nigerian Professional League” is what it was called between 1990–1993. Nigerian National League – First Division was the name between 1979–1990.

And “the (Nigerian) National League” or “Nigerian Football League” was what it was known as between 1972–1979.

So who are the NPFL top scorers 2018/2019? Let’s take a look at them.

SEE ALSO: Richest Footballer In Africa – See The Top 10 & Their Net Worth

Godwin Obaje

Godwin Obaje was the top scorer of the last season of Nigeria Premier League.

Born in Nigeria in 1997, Obaje is now the highest paid player in the league. Obaje has joined Etoile du Sahel of Tunisia. This was a long-term deal from Wikki Tourists.

The 22-year-old has signed a four-and-a-half-year deal with the Tunisian club and he said that the club has tremendous confidence in him as a striker and that he is hopeful of delivering.

Obaje scored 18 goals in the 2016 season and thereby enabled Wikki Tourists to finish at third place.

Mfon Udoh

When we speak about the Nigeria Premier League top scorers the first name that comes to our mind is Mfon Udoh who had scored 23 goals to his credit.

In addition to the Nigerian national team, Udoh plays as a forward for Akwa United also.

His pace, exact positioning, finishing in the most natural style and the skill to provide assists make him a complete forward.

Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer

This 27-year old Nigerian football player is the best striker of NPFL. Udoh received the golden boot award for the top NPFL scorer.

He created a record by scoring 23 goals for the People’s Elephant of Aba and during 2013 – 2014, most of the League’s individual awards were grabbed by Mfon Udoh.

He was the highest goal scorer in Enyimba’s CAF Champion League campaign in 2016 in spite of his injury as well as lack of playing time.

Udoh was formerly the captain of the Aba-based Enyimbia International. Ahead of the 2018 – 2019 season, he rejoined Akwa United.

Mfon Udoh is the all-time highest scorer in a single season in NPFL. Critics refer Udoh as a “local champion” since so far he has not played out of Nigeria.

But, while speaking to journalists Udoh said that his chance to play abroad will come someday.

Jude Aneke

Is Jude Nigeria league top scorer 2018? We’ll see.

The Nigerian forward who is now playing for Ikorodu United F.C. was born in the year 1990.

The 29-year old started his football career with Young Planners FC and Ebonyi Angels FC.

Out of the 13 goals scored by Jude Aneke during the 2009 – 2010 season when he was with Kaduna United, 10 goals were in the League only.

The Ebonyi State University graduate won the Nigerian FA Cup in 2010. In 2014, Aneke joined Kazakhstan Premier League side FC Spartak Semey.

In 2016 he came back to Nigeria and played for Ikorodu United F.C.

When the Egyptian Premier League side, Al Masry refused to pay a transfer fee to this Nigerian forward, FIFA slammed Al Masry and ordered the club to pay him $140,000.

Aneke won the Nigerian Super Cup in 2010 and in 2012 he was the top scorer of Nigeria Premier League.

Victor Namo

Victor Namo, also known as V.I.C, is a Nigerian football player who was born in the year 1988 in Jos.

The 30-year-old started his football career with Yobe Desert Stars and he joined Kano Pillars F.C. in the year 2006.

Namo became one among Nigeria Premier League top scorers during his career in Kano Pillars Football Club from 2006 to 2012.

The Jos-born player helped Kano Pillars to win Nigerian Premier League for the first time in 2007 – 08. In 2007, Victor scored 7 goals in the CAF Champions League.

Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer

In 2011-2012 season Victor Namo helped Kano Pillars to win their second league title and after that season he left Kano Pillars and joined Nasarawa United.

Victor emerged as the top scorer in the league by scoring 19 goals on behalf of Nasarawa United.

The striker left Nigeria in 2014 and joined Al Ahly Benghazi of Libyan Premier League, but does he qualify as the highest goal scorer in Nigeria league 2018? We’ll find out.

Junior Lokosa

Junior Sewanu Lokosa became one among the Nigeria Premier League top scorers when he scored 19 goals in Premier League of 2018.

The 25-year-old forward plays for Kano Pillars which was one among the top 3 teams in Nigeria Premier League of 2018.

Lokosa joined Kano Pillars in 2017 prior to which he was playing for First Bank Nigeria.

Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer

This centre-forward player was born in Nigeria in the year 1993.

Lokosa scored 24 goals during his career in Kano Pillars.

The former First Bank player was also awarded the title “Eunisell Boot” when he became the top scorer of Nigeria Premier League in 2018.

SEE ALSO: RANKED: Richest Football Club In Nigeria – The Top Five

Now let’s find out who currently stands as Nigeria Premier League top scorer.


1990 Ishaya JatauIwuanyanwu Nationale17
1991 Richard OjomoBendel United12
1992 Arthur MosesSuper Stores10
1993 Tony NwigweIwuanyanwu Nationale13
1994 Olumide HarrisShooting Stars14
1995 Ben AgawamGombe United F.C.12
1996 Peter AnyiolobiEnyimba9
1997 Paul KpoughoulJasper United/BCC Lions16
1998 Hassan MinnaGombe United14
1999 Emmanuel AgoIwuanyanwu Nationale14
2000 Peter IjehJulius Berger14
2001 Uche OkerekeEnugu Rangers13
2002 Joetex FrimpongEl-Kanemi Warriors16
2003 Chibuzor Ozurumba
Endurance Idahor
Iwuanyanwu Nationale
Julius Berger
2004 Kabiru AlausaJulius Berger13
2005 Timothy Anjembe
Joseph Akpala
Lobi Stars
Bendel Insurance
2006 Ikechukwu IbenegbuEl-Kanemi Warriors10
2007 Aruwa AmehKaduna United10
2008 Abubakar BabaleWikki Tourists/Sunshine Stars14
2009 Orok AkarandutAkwa United17
2010 Ahmed MusaKano Pillars18
2011 Jude AnekeKaduna United20
2012 Sibi GwarNiger Tornadoes17
2013 Victor NamoNasarawa United18
2014 Mfon UdohEnyimba23
2015 Gbolahan SalamiWarri Wolves17
2016 Godwin ObajeWikki Tourists18
2017 Anthony OkpotuLobi Stars19
2018 Junior LokosaKano Pillars19

SEE ALSO: Pepsi Football Academy – Registration Process Explained Fully

So now, you know who the NPFL highest goal scorer 2018, right? As you can see from the list above, Junior Lokosa is the current Nigeria Premier League top scorer.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Greg Afamah

Written by Greg Afamah

Greg is a Sports content writer. He has many years of experience in Sports Writing. He was a writer for Opera News and is Editor-in-Chief at GoalBall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *