Ogunjobi Gold Cup: NPFL sides’ foes revealed

Organizers of the Taiwo Ogunjobi Gold Cup has released the draws for the 2021 edition of the football competition as the Pre-season Tournament officially kicks off from Thursday, October 21 through Saturday, October 30, 2021.

It's the 9th edition of the tournament and will be co-hosted at the Remo Stars Stadium in Ikenne and FC Ebedei Stadium in Sagamu.

In the draw conducted on Wednesday, Group A is regarded as the ‘Group of Death’ as it is made up of three NPFL sides.Kwara United, MFM FC, Remo Stars, Osun United and Yobo FC will trade tackles in the Group A of the competition, while Group B houses newly promoted NPFL sides, Niger Tornadoes and Shooting Stars as well as NLO giant-killers FC Ebedei and Beyond Limits.

General coordinator of the competition, Tunde Shamsudeen, disclosed the other teams for the 10-day football fiesta as FC Ebedei, Osun United, Yobo FC and debutants Beyond Limits.

According to him, the Remo Stars Stadium will host all Group A contests, while Group B matches will be hosted at the FC Ebedei Stadium.

ABS FC of Ilorin are the defending champions after they stung Gombe United in a 5-goal thriller at the last edition in Ilorin.

This article was most recently revised and updated 1 year ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here