Super Falcons win ninth AWCON trophy

Super Falcons win ninth AWCON trophy

Super Falcons of Nigeria beat the Bayana Bayana of South Africa 4 – 3 on penalties to retain the Africa Women Cup of Nations trophy in Accra on Saturday.

The highly intense game ended goalless after 120 and was decided by spot kicks

Four-time Africa Women footballer of the year Asisat Oshoala had a golden opportunity to put the Falcons ahead through a penalty kick but missed the chance when she kicked wide.

The Falcons were put on the edge when Onome Ebi’s first penalty was caught by the South African goalkeeper but the team held out to the remaining four spot kicks while goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi caught the final kick from the South African player to hand the team the trophy.

This is the ninth AWCON that the Super Falcons would be carting home out of 11 with Equatorial Guinea clinching the other two.

Super Falcons won 4-3 after South Africa’s Linda Motlhalo missed her penalty shot.

Below is the starting line-up of the two teams


  1. Oluehi TochuKwu
  2. Osinachi Marvis Ohale
  3. Ngozi Ebere
  4. Onome Ebi
  5. Josephine Chiwendu Chukwunonye
  6. Asisat Lamina Oshoala
  7. Rita Chikwelu
  8. Ngozi Sonia Okobi
  9. Rasheedat Busayo Ajibade
  10. Francisca Ordega
  11. Halimatu Ibrahim Ayinde

South Africa

  1. Lebohang Ester Ramalepe
  2. Nothando Vilakazi
  3. Janine Van Wyk
  4. Mamello Makhabane
  5. Linda Maserame Motlhalo
  6. Chrestinah Kgatlana
  7. Jermaine Seoposenwe
  8. BambananiNolufefe Mbane
  9. Leandra Wiloma Smeda
  10. BusisweNdimeni

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here