Super Falcons Win First WAFU Cup of Nations

WAFU Cup of Nations

The Super Falcons of Nigeria won their first WAFU Cup of Nations after beating hosts Ivory Coast in the finals in Abidjan.

Nigeria won 5-4 on penalties after an exciting 1-1 draw in regulation time.

SEE ALSO: LBA Announce Junior Lokosa NPFL Player of the Season

Ivory Coast took the lead in the 41st minute through striker N'Guessan Koko Ange, who was named player of the tournament after the match.

Uchenna Grace Kanu pulled parity for the Falcons with four minutes to end the match, forcing the game into penalty shoot-outs.

Ivory Coast's defender Kouassi Rosemonde was the only one who failed to score a goal in the shoot-out.

Falcon's Kanu finished as the tournament's top scorer with 10 goals in five games.

Meanwhile, the Black Queens of Ghana were Bronze medalist after beating Mali on penalties on Saturday.

SEE ALSO: Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer: Complete List (1990 Till Date)

Nigeria is the second country to win the competition after Ghana won it last year in Ivory Coast.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here