UEFA Men’s Player of the Year results released

UEFA Men's Player of the Year results show Lionel Messi didn't even finish fourth

UEFA has released their three-man shortlist for their 2017/18 Men's Player of the Year award but the results took many football fans by surprise as Lionel Messi failed to make the list.

Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah made the top three players, and the winner will be made known on August 30 ahead of this season's Champions’ League group stage draw.

A jury comprised of 80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the Champions League and Europa League last season, as well as 55 journalists voted on the players.

Jury members adhered to a scoring system of awarding five points to their first pick, three to their second and one to their third.

Even in the remaining names released by UEFA to have made the top ten, Messi didn't even finish fourth.

FIFA 2018 World Cup winner Antoine Griezmann finished ahead of Messi who had to settle for fifth.

Premier League stars Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard also made the top 10 while Sergio Ramos snuck in at 10th.

Cristiano Ronaldo won the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award last year.

See the List of 4-10 for UEFA Men's Player of the Year

4 – Antoine Griezmann – 72 points

5 – Lionel Messi – 55 points

6 – Kylian Mbappe – 43 points

7 – Kevin De Bruyne – 28 points

8 – Raphaël Varane – 23 points

9 – Eden Hazard – 15 points

10 – Sergio Ramos – 12 points

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here