Africa Women’s Cup Of Nations: CAF Selects Two Nigerian Referees

Africa Women’s Cup Of Nations: CAF Selects Two Nigerian Referees

The Confederation of African Football released the list of referees that will officiate at the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations.

The Nigerian duo, Madu Patience and Mimisen Iyorhe, were among the 32 referees and assistant referees shortlisted to embark on a preparatory course to fine-tune their readiness for the women’s tournament in Ghana next month.

According to, the course is planned for October 17-21,  2018 in Cape Coast, one of the venues for the 2018 biennial championship scheduled to hold November 17 to December 1, 2018.

During the course, the selected 16 referees and 16 assistant referees will go through medical screening, theoretical and physical drills in their quest to make the list for the final tournament.

The five-day training will be supervised by CAF Instructors Lim Kee Chong (Mauritius), Hadqa Yahya (Morocco), Lawson Hogban Latre-Kayi (Togo), Mademba Mbacke (Senegal) and Marwa Hannachi (Tunisia).

Meanwhile, the super falcons of Nigeria have started camping ahead of the tournament.

Here is the list of the 16 Referees for Africa Women’s Cup of Nations:

1 Maria Packuita Cynquela Rivet – Mauritius

2 Ganouati Dorsaf – Tunisia

3 Lengwe Gladys – Zambia

4 Jonesia Rukyaa KABAKAMA – Tanzania

5 Lidya Tafesse ABEBE – Ethiopia

6 Fatou Thioune – Senegal

7 Stellah Ruvinga – Zimbabwe

8 Aurore Christelle M. Ligan – Benin

9 Zomadre Sonia KORE – Cote d'Ivoire

10 Salma Mukansanga – Rwanda

11 Amedome Vincentia Enyonam – Togo

12 Viana Letticia – Eswatini

13 Suavis Irantunga – Burundi

14 Karboubi Bouchra – Morocco

15 MADU Ndidi Patience – Nigeria

16 APPIAH Juliet – Ghana

Here is the list of 16 Assistant Referees for Africa Women’s Cup of Nations:

1 Rakotozafinoro Lidwine Pelagie – Madagascar

2 Mona Mahmoud Atallah – Egypt

3 Kanjinga Mireille MUJANAYI – DR Congo

4 Chikotesha Diana – Zambia

5 Denis Kassonoux Akoua – Cote d'Ivoire

6 Josiane Mbakop Nfongan – Cameroon

7 Carolyne Wanjala – Kenya

8 Adia Cisse – Senegal

9 Fanta Idrissa Kone – Mali

10 Njoroge Mary-  Kenya

11 Mimisen Agatha IYORHE – Nigeria

12 Nantabo Lydia WANYAMA – Uganda

13 Kwimbira Bernadettar – Malawi

14 Bielignin Elodie Sophie SOME – Burkina Faso

15 Queency Victoire – Mauritius

16 Jermoumi Fatiha – Morocco

Photo:, Getty Images

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 months ago

Greg is a Sports content writer. He has many years of experience in Sports Writing. He was a writer for Opera News and is Editor-in-Chief at GoalBall.