African Football League prize money: The gold mine awaiting the winner

African Football League prize money: The gold mine awaiting the winner
Credit: CAF - Twitter

As announced by CAF, the inaugural African Football League begins in October 2023 where the best African teams on the continent will compete in what is set to become the biggest football competition on the Continent. 

According to CAF’s official website, the African Football League (AFL) is “designed to showcase the best of African club football and provide football fans in Africa and around the world, the opportunity to see and enjoy the very best of the beautiful game on the African Continent.”

African Football League: Prize money involved

Because of the presentation of the tournament, the prize money involved is used to sweeten the pot and make the African Football League as important as possible as quickly as possible. The prize money for the winner of the inaugural African Super League is a mouth watering sum of $100 million. 

Tournament format

The African Football League is set to begin in October 2023 but first, there will be a draw on Saturday, September 2nd to determine who will face who during the tournament.

Already, eight teams have been selected to participate in the African Football League. These team's come from the North Region, the Central-West Region and the South-East Region which are the three African Regional blocks. 

With only eight teams, the competition is structured in a home and away basis with the competition having two legged knockout quarterfinals and matches going all the way to the final. 

The tournament only lasts four weeks. 

What teams are involved?

Mamelodi Sundowns from South Africa: The Brazillians are one the best teams on the continent so it is no surprise that they participate. They are four time DSTV Premier League champions and are the reigning champions presently. They have also won the Champions League and CAF Super Cup one one occasion each 

Simba Sports Club from Tanzania: After  their recent outings in the CAF Competitions they have participated in, the Tanzanian side has been selected to represent the East African region  gives them the right to compete with the best in Africa.

T.P Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of Congo: The three time CAF Champions League winners have been facing some difficulties in recent seasons but the  AFL could give them a chance to rise again..

Enyimba from Nigeria: The two time CAF Champions league and CAF Super Cup winners are beginning to get back to the heights they once achieved in the past. Their reputation has brought them to this tournament but the current NPFL winners and nine time champions of Nigerian will not just be there to make up the numbers. 

Petro du Luanda from Angola: The 17 time champions of Angola have not been able to conquer the continent but they  have been one of the most consistent sides in CAF tournaments in terms of participation. Maybe they can finally find glory on the continental stage at the African Football League. 

Esperance Sportive from Tunisia: The Tunisian giants are one of the most successful clubs on the continent.  They have four CAF Champions League titles under their belt, have won the CAF Cup and Africa Winners Cup  one time each. On top of that they have won the local league 32 times.

Al-Ahly from Egypt: The Egyptian side are arguably the most successful team in Africa. They hold the record for the most number of Champions League trophies won at 11, they also have won four African Cup Winners Cup trophies, eight CAF Super Cup trophies and one Confederations Cup trophy.

It’s easy to see why they have been involved in the inaugural tournament. 

Wydad Casablanca from Morocco: The 17 time Moroccan League winners, three time CAF Champions League winners and one time CAF Super Cup winners have also been added to the tournament. They round up a stacked group of clubs competing for the massive $100m prize. 

This article was most recently revised and updated 9 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!