African Women Cup of Nations: NFF Moves Falcons’ Camp To Epe

African Women Cup of Nations: NFF Moves Falcons’ Camp To Epe

Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) have taken a dramatic change for the Falcons as initial plans of seeing the female national team open camp in Abuja has now been ditched for a site at Epe, Lagos State.

According to, the Falcons will now open camp at Jubilee Chalets, Chalet Road, off Obafemi Awolowo Road, Epe this Thursday, ahead of next month’s 11th African Women Cup of Nations, which is scheduled to hold in Ghana.

This comes after the team’s technical adviser, Thomas Dennerby rolled out a list of 29 home-based players and 19 from overseas for the first phase of camping for the squad.

The Falcons qualified to defend their title in Ghana after spanking Gambia home and away in their only qualification fixture.

On the list of players are reigning African Woman Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, as well as ace forward Desire Oparanozie, goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, and defender Glory Ogbonna.

There are also two goalkeepers Alaba Jonathan and Tochukwu Oluehi, defenders Joy Jegede and Onome Ebi, midfielders Halimat Ayinde and Osarenoma Igbinovia and forwards Francisca Ordega and Anam Imo.

Below are all the goalkeepers invited to the Falcons’ camp, starting this Thursday:

  1. Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels)
  2. Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens)
  3. Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens)
  4. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)
  5. Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens)

The 13 defenders on the list are:

  1. Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels)
  2. Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens)
  3. Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons)
  4. Maureen Okpala (Confluence Queens)
  5. Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons)
  6. Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons).
  7. Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona, Cyprus)
  8. Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons)
  9. Faith Michael (Pitea, Sweden)
  10. Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China)
  11. Juliet Lorliam (Nasarawa Amazons)
  12. Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden)
  13. Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum, Sweden)

The 15 midfielders invited are:

  1. Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens)
  2. Christy Ucheibe (Nasarawa Amazons)
  3. Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons)
  4. Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars)
  5. Peace Efih (Edo Queens)
  6. Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens).
  7. Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens)
  8. Nneka Julius (Edo Queens)
  9. Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens)
  10. Mary Anjor (Osun Babes)
  11. Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna, Sweden)
  12. Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden)
  13. Christy Adule (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)
  14. Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden)
  15. Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden)

Forwards invited are 14 in number and they include:

  1. Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo Queens)
  2. Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons)
  3. Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels)
  4. Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens)
  5. Chioma Wogu (Rivers Angels)
  6. Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens)
  7. Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China)
  8. Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA).
  9. Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France)
  10. Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal)
  11. Ebere Orji (Mallbackens Lysvik, Sweden)
  12. Esther Sunday (Konak Belediyespor)
  13. Uchechi Sunday; Courtney Dike (Oklahoma City, USA)
  14. Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan).

The 11th Women Africa Cup of Nations will take place in Accra and Cape Coast from 17th November to 1st December, before which draws for the eight-nation championship will hold this Sunday, 21st October.

The Falcons beat hosts Cameroon 1-0 in the final of the last edition of the Women Africa Cup of Nations in December 2016.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 months ago

Greg is a Sports content writer. He has many years of experience in Sports Writing. He was a writer for Opera News and is Editor-in-Chief at GoalBall.