CAF Awards: Super Eagles duo miss out on final shortlist

CAF Awards: Super Eagles duo miss out on final shortlist

The final shortlist for this year’s CAF awards has been revealed by the football governing body on Monday.

Simon, who was shortlisted for the Men’s Player of the Year award, and Amoo, who was in the running for the Young Player of the Year award, are now out of the race.

10 nominees have been shortlisted for the Player of the Year and Inter-club Player of the Year, while the Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year categories have five nominees each.

The winners will be decided by a voting panel that is made up of CAF’s technical committee, media professionals, head coaches, and captains of member associations and clubs involved in the group stage of the inter-club competition for last season.

“The women’s category final shortlist will be announced in due course,” CAF announced.

Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane, Manchester City winger Riyad Mahrez and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah are the top contenders for the African Player of the Year award after Caf released a final star-studded list of nominees for 2022.

Tunisian prodigy Mejbri will battle it out with Black Stars of Ghana's Kamaldeen Sulemana, Burkina Faso's Django Ouattara, Senegal's Pape Matar Sarr, and Ivory Coast's Karim Konate for the Young Player of the Year award.

Four of the final five nominees play in the Top 5 European leagues with Ouattara, Sulemana, and Sarr featuring in the French Ligue 1 for Lorient, Rennes and Metz respectively while Konate plays for RB Salzburg in the Austrian top-flight.

The CAF Awards 2022 will be held in Rabat, Morocco on 21 July 2022.

List of final nominees:

Player of the Year (Men)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Olympique Lyonnais)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)

Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico) 

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)

Percy Tau (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly)

Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)

Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)

Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)

Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal) 

National Team of the Year

Burkina Faso





Club of the Year

Petro Atletico (Angola)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Orlando Pirates (South Africa)




This article was most recently revised and updated 2 years ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!