CAF Explains Cameroon 2021 AFCON Draw Procedure

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have explained how the draw for the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon 2021 will be held.

Yaounde Conference Centre will be used as the venue on the 17th of August 2021, and the 24 participating teams will be divided into six groups of four teams each.

The 24 qualified teams will be allocated to four pots of six teams each, based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking that will be released before the date of the draw, i.e. 12 August 2021.

Based on this ranking, the top four teams will be allocated to Pot 1 along with Cameroon – who are the host, and Algeria – who are the title holder.

The remaining 18 teams will be allocated to the three remaining pots (Pots 2, 3 and 4) according to their ranking in descending order.

The four pots representing the teams will be labelled pots 1 to 4. The six pots representing the groups will be labelled groups A to F.

A ball from a team pot will be drawn, followed by a ball from one of the group pots, thus determining the position in which the respective team will play.

Cameroon will be pre-assigned to position A1 as hosts.

SEE ALSO | Top 10 Nigerian Footballers Playing For Other Countries

The remaining five teams in pot 1 will automatically be drawn into position 1 of each group (B to F). The same procedure will be repeated for the remaining pots.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 months ago

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.