FIFA Best Awards Winners 2020: The FULL List Released

The FIFA Best Awards award ceremony was a virtual event due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski won the biggest individual prize of his career on Thursday beating the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win The Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

Manchester City and England defender Lucy Bronze meanwhile won The Best FIFA Women’s player award.

Voting was done by a global jury of national team captains and coaches, plus selected journalists and fans.

Lewandowski received 52 voting points, with Ronaldo second on 38 Messi third with 35.

The 32-year-old Lewandowski joined Luka Modric, the Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder who won in 2018, as the only players in the past 13 years to deny both Messi and Ronaldo the victory.

Interestingly, Lewandowski is also the first men’s winner from a club outside Spain since Ronaldo won the 2008 award as a Manchester United player.

Meanwhile, Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp won the Best Men’s Coach award while Netherlands women’s national-team boss Sarina Wiegman won the Best Women’s Coach award for the second time in her career.

FIFA Best Awards 2020 Winners

Men’s Player: Robert Lewandowski – Poland/Bayern Munich

Women’s Player: Lucy Bronze – England/Lyon

Women’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman – Netherlands

Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp – Liverpool

Women’s Goalkeeper: Sarah Bouhaddi – France/Lyon

Men’s Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer – Germany/Bayern Munich

FIFPRO Women’s World11:

Christiane Endler; Lucy Bronze,  Wendie Renard, Millie Bright (England), Delphine Cascarino (France); Barbara Bonansea(Italy), Veronica Boquete (Italy), Megan Rapinoe (USA); Pernille Harder(Denmark), Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands), Tobin Heath (USA).

FIFPRO Men’s World11:

Alisson Becker; Trent-Alexander Arnold, Sergio Ramos, Virgil van Dijk,  Alphonso Davies; Kevin de Bruyne, Thiago Alcantara, Joshua Kimmich, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Puskas Award: Son Heung-Min

SEE ALSO | Top Goal Scorers In Europe Since 2000/01 Revealed

FIFA Fair Play Award: Italy’s Mattia Agnese, 17, who helped an opponent who lost consciousness during a game.

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago