FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023: What You Should Know About the Event

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023: What You Should Know About the Event
The FIFA flag flies high over St. George's Park

The FIFA U-20 World Cup, formerly called the FIFA World Youth Championship, is a biennial football tournament between 24 FIFA-recognized national teams with players under 20. It has been held every two years since its inception in 1977, hosted by Tunisia and won by the Soviet Union.

The tournament remained the FIFA World Youth Championship until the 2005 edition, with the name change to the FIFA U-20 World Cup valid from the 2007 edition.

FIFA, the apex body for world football, labelled this competition “The Tournament of Tomorrow’s Superstars”. They're right, as top Super Eagles and international players like Diego Maradona, Lionel Messi, Xavi, Iniesta, Andre Ayew, Paul Pogba, Oscar, Casemiro, Erling Haaland, etc., made their name through the U20 teams.

Argentina is the most successful nation in the FIFA World Cup, winning it six times. Ukraine holds the crown currently, winning the tournament in 2019.

The 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup

The 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup will be the 23rd edition of the competition. Argentina will host the tournament, beginning Saturday, 20th May and ending Sunday, 11th June 2023.

Four Argentine cities—La Plata, Mendoza, San Juan, and Santiago del Estero—will host the FIFA World Cup matches. The showpiece will kick-start with four skirmishes on the opening day in San Juan and Santiago del Estero.

Argentina, the host, will begin their campaign on 20th May against Uzbekistan on the opening day. The South American nation will be grateful to get a place in the FIFA World Cup as they originally didn't qualify for it. They were handed a place after Indonesia were stripped of their hosting rights.

Indonesia Stripped of the Hosting Rights

Issues started when widespread opposition in Indonesia took place over the participation of Israel in the tournament. Indonesia, a primary Muslim-majority country, took exception to Israel's participation because of its policy towards Palestine. Both countries do not have formal diplomatic relations.

The Participating Nations

The 24 nations that qualified for the 2023 FIFA U20 World Cup are Argentina (hosts), Uzbekistan, Guatemala, New Zealand, USA, Ecuador, Fiji, Slovakia; Senegal, Japan, Israel, Colombia, Italy, Brazil, Nigeria, Dominican Republic, Uruguay, Iraq, England, Tunisia, France, Republic of Korea, Gambia, and Honduras.

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023 Groups

The 24 participating nations are drawn into six Groups of four countries each. The top two teams from each of the six groups will advance to the last 16, along with the four best third-placed teams.

Here are the groups:

Group A



New Zealand


Group B





Group C





Group D


Dominican Republic



Group E





Group F




South Korea

Frequently Asked Questions About the FIFA U-20 World Cup

Which country won the first edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup?

The Soviet Union won the first edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 1977.

Which country won the last edition?

Ukraine won the last edition in 2019.

Has any African country won the FIFA U-20 World Cup?

Yes. Ghana won the 2009 edition in Egypt.

Who was the top scorer in the last edition?

Manchester City starlet Erling Haaland was the top scorer in the last edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup with nine goals.

Who is a player to watch out for in the FIFA U-20 World Cup?

Keep an eye on Alejandro Garnacho of Manchester United, playing for Argentina.

This article was most recently revised and updated 9 months ago

Chandan is a passionate writer, editor, and marketer with a love for football. He has bylines in leading online publications and has worked with renowned sports brands like The Olympics, Fox Sports Asia, and the Indian Super League (ISL). As for the unimpressive part, he loves Chelsea.