FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 – Groups

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 – Groups
Credit: Iconsport

Discover the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 groups, featuring powerhouse teams and emerging talents. Get ready for captivating matches and fierce competition as the world's best female footballers battle it out for glory.

The FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 is set to be an exciting and highly anticipated event, as Australia and New Zealand will jointly host it.

The tournament is scheduled to take place from 20 July to 20 August 2023 and will feature 32 participating teams, including the two host nations.

The Women's World Cup has been steadily growing in popularity and significance over the years, and the upcoming edition promises to be a thrilling showcase of women's football on a global scale.

The group stage draw has already taken place, and the teams have been divided into eight groups of four teams each. The group stage matches will be held in various cities across Australia and New Zealand, with the aim of ensuring widespread access and engagement with the tournament.

SEE ALSO | FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 – Teams

Let's take a closer look at the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 groups:

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 groups

Group A:

– New Zealand (hosts)
– Norway
– Philippines
– Switzerland

Group A features the host nation, New Zealand, who will undoubtedly enjoy the support of their home crowd. They will face stiff competition from Norway, a team with a strong football tradition. The Philippines and Switzerland complete the group, both of whom will be looking to cause some upsets and make their mark on the tournament.

Group B:

– Australia (hosts)
– Republic of Ireland
– Nigeria
– Canada

Group B includes the other host nation, Australia, who will have high hopes of making the knock-out stage. They will face tough challenges from the Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, and Canada. All three teams have shown their capabilities in previous international tournaments, and this group promises to be highly competitive.

Group C:

– Spain
– Costa Rica
– Zambia
– Japan

Group C sees Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, and Japan go head to head. Spain and Japan are two teams known for their technical ability and tactical prowess. Costa Rica and Zambia will be looking to make an impact and upset the more established teams in the group.

Group D:

– England
– Haiti
– Denmark
– China

Group D features England, one of the traditional powerhouses of women's football. They will face tough opposition from Denmark and China PR, both of whom have strong teams. Haiti, the final team in the group, will be aiming to showcase their talent and challenge the more experienced sides.

Group E:

– United States (holders)
– Vietnam
– Netherlands
– Portugal

Group E is headlined by the reigning champions, the United States. The U.S. team will be aiming for an unprecedented third consecutive title and will be the team to beat in this group. Vietnam, the Netherlands, and Portugal will provide strong competition and will look to cause an upset by defeating the defending champions.

SEE ALSO | FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners: USWNT Reign Supreme

Group F:

– France
– Jamaica
– Brazil
– Panama

Group F consists of France, Jamaica, Brazil, and Panama. France are a perennial contender in women's football and will be a strong favourite in this group. However, both Brazil and Jamaica have shown their potential in previous tournaments and will pose a threat. Panama, making their Women's World Cup debut, will be eager to make a mark on the global stage.

Group G:

– Sweden
– South Africa
– Italy
– Argentina

Group G features Sweden, South Africa, Italy, and Argentina. Sweden are known for their strong women's national team and will be aiming to progress to the later stages of the tournament. Italy and Argentina will be tough opponents, while African champions South Africa will be looking to make an impression and progress beyond the group stage.

Group H:

– Germany
– Morocco
– Colombia
– South Korea

Group H consists of Germany, a team with a rich history in women's football and a strong contender in every tournament. They will face challenges from South Korea, Colombia, and Morocco, all of whom will be aiming to upset the more established teams and progress to the knockout stage.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage of the tournament. The knockout phase will consist of the Round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, and final. The final match will take place on August 20, 2023, where one team will be crowned the world champions of women's football.

As the current holders, the United States will undoubtedly be one of the favourites to win the tournament once again. They have a strong squad and a winning mentality that could see them lift the trophy for the third consecutive time. However, they will face stiff competition from traditional powerhouses like Germany, France, and England, as well as emerging teams such as the Netherlands and Spain.

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup promises to be a celebration of women's football, showcasing the skills, passion, and talent of players from around the world. With Australia and New Zealand as hosts, the tournament is expected to have a vibrant and enthusiastic atmosphere, as both nations are known for their love of the game.

Fans can look forward to a month-long extravaganza of football with captivating matches, individual brilliance, and inspiring team performances. The tournament will undoubtedly be a significant milestone in women's football's continued growth and development, inspiring a new generation of young girls to pursue their dreams on and off the pitch.

As the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup draws closer, anticipation and excitement continue to build. Football fans worldwide eagerly await the opening kick-off, ready to witness the best female footballers compete for glory and the remarkable stories and memorable moments that will define this edition of the tournament.

This article was most recently revised and updated 7 months ago

Rababe Koussaimi, a 22-year-old journalist, is deeply passionate about the world of sports. She grew up in a footballing environment, supporting both Bayern Munich and Wydad Athletic Club. She began her English journalism career by hosting a podcast for the first English radio station in Morocco. Currently, the Moroccan journalist channels her enthusiasm into writing and conducting extensive research, creating insightful and engaging content for GoalBall Live readers.