Javier Tebas Re-Elected As Laliga President

Javier Tebas Re-Elected As Laliga President

Javier Tebas has been officially elected unopposed for a third term as president of La Liga with a four-year mandate.

The 57-year-old assumed the position in 2013 and his current role was set to come up for election in October 2020, but he confirmed earlier this month that he would be seeking a renewed mandate.

“Following the presentation of a single candidacy for the presidency … and this being valid, Javier Tebas is definitively named president of La Liga for a period of four years, without the need to hold an extraordinary general assembly,” read a La Liga statement.

Tebas explained that he is running the elections 10 months ahead of the required renewal date as he believes it would give him a renewed mandate on a series of renewed issues.

See Also | EXCLUSIVE: Experts Rate All Manchester City Transfer ‘Targets'

Those include the renegotiations of TV rights within Spain, the league’s relationship with government (following the formation of a new national government from November’s election) and other bodies, alongside proposed changes in wider European football.

This article was most recently revised and updated 7 months ago

Greg is a Sports content writer. He has many years of experience in Sports Writing. He was a writer for Opera News and is Editor-in-Chief at GoalBall.