Kwara United – Players salary, stadium, news

Kwara United – Players salary, stadium, news
Credit: @KwaraUnitedFC Twitter

Kwara United is an Ilorin-based side that features in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL). They have established themselves as a mainstay of the NPFL, having secured a top-four spot in two of the most recent three seasons.

Read below to find out the club's history, players, past achievements, news, and latest signings.

History of Kwara United

Kwara United started as Kwara Water Corporation Football Club in 1974. It was initially a side project for the staff members of the Water Corporation. Five years later, as the football institution continued to progress, it was given permission to feature in the National League's second division.

Kwara United wasted no time in making a quick impression as they reached the quarterfinals of the Football Association Cup, where they suffered a 2-1 defeat.

The club changed its name to Kwara Utility Bombers of Ilorin in 1985 after the parent company's renaming to Kwara Utility Board.

In 1990, yet another change of name happened to Kwara Bombers Football Club of Ilorin. What followed was a period of financial difficulties, which led to the club’s relegation to Division 3 in 1996.

Led by Colonel Peter Asum Ogar, a new state administration led the purchase of the Exide Club of Ibadan in March 1997, moved them to Ilorin, and took their slot in the Second Division. Ogar named the new outfit Kwara United Football Club of Ilorin.

Kwara United staff profile

Head coach: Kabiru Dogo

Welfare secretary: Niyi Ogunlana

Media officer: Jimoh Bashir

Club Chairman: Kumbi Titiloye

Kwara United Players


Dele Aiyenugba

Adeyinka Adewale

Ishola Abdullateef

Saliu Suleiman


Adebayo Abiodun

Ayodeji Bamidele

Muhammed Kabiru

Muritala Lawal

Yakubu Ahmed

Abiodun Ayobami


Kabiru Balogun

Samuel Chisom

Sani Faisal

Jide Fatokun

Yakub Hammed

Ahmed Jimoh

Anthony Omaka

Aremu Owolabi


Musa Abdulazeez

Musa Afeez

Adeshina Gata

Samad Kadiri

Paul Samson

Ibrahim Yahaya

Kwara United players salary

We don't have the salary information of the players curently on Kwara United’s books.

Kwara United Stadium

Kwara United plays their home matches at the Kwara State Stadium, formerly known as the Liberation Stadium. It is located in Ilorin with a maximum seating capacity of 18,000.

Kwara United achievements

1997: National Second Division winners

1999: CAF Cup quarter-finals

2006: Nigerian Premier League winners (regular season), third in Super Four play-off

2007: First-ever appearance at the CAF Confederations Cup

Kwara United new signings

Kwara United have shown great intent in the transfer window, having acquired the services of several players.

The following players were recently added to the Kwara United roster:

Oginni Olatunbosun (Midfielder)

Muhammed Kabiru (Defender)

Ibrahim Yahaya (Midfielder)

Saliu Suleiman (Goalkeeper)

Isaiah Ejeh (Defender)

Moses Ibukun (Defender)

Kwara United CAF competitions profile

CAF Cup: 1 appearance

1999: Quarter-final

CAF Confederation Cup

2007: Group stage

What’s next for Kwara United?

Kwara United have come close to qualifying for CAF competitions of late, and that will be their primary target heading into the upcoming NPFL campaign.

The Afonja finished seventh in the standings last time out, 13 points shy of third place, which would have guaranteed them a shot at continental football.

This article was most recently revised and updated 9 months ago

Chandan is a passionate writer, editor, and marketer with a love for football. He has bylines in leading online publications and has worked with renowned sports brands like The Olympics, Fox Sports Asia, and the Indian Super League (ISL). As for the unimpressive part, he loves Chelsea.