List Of Past AFCON Winners, Host Countries, Coaches From 1957 Till Date

List Of Past AFCON Winners

As a Nigerian writing this list of past AFCON winners article, I’m kind of ashamed that the ‘giant of Africa’ has won the Africa Cup of Nation only three times since its inception in 1957.

Who is to blame? The players? The Football Federation?

I really don’t know.

Sometimes you find the players fumbling even when the FA has provided everything, and at other times you find the FA not living up to their responsibility.

And sometimes it is the Government of the day.

It’s just a mixed bag of blame game.

The competition was first hosted at Khartoum, Sudan, where Egypt defeated the host country to become the first AFCON winner.

As if that wasn’t enough, Egypt went on to become the country that has won the competition more than any other African country, winning it for the seventh time when it was hosted by in 2010.

The Black Stars of Ghana lost to the Pharaohs of Egypt 0-1 in the final.

So when you are talking of the country that has won the Africa Cup of Nation the most, you have your answer.

Sadly since then, the Pharaohs have not won the tournament even with the likes of Mohamed Salah.

Hopefully, before the Liverpool star man ends his career, Egypt could change their fortune in the coming tournament.

SEE ALSO | Nigeria National Under-23 Football Team For 2020

See Ghana vs Egypt Africa Cup of Nations Final starting lineups:

Ghana: R Kingson, L Addy, S Inkoom, H Sarpei, I Vorsah, A Annan, A Ayew, O Agyemang, K Asamoah, E Agyemang-Badu, A Gyan

Egypt: E Al-Hadari, A El-Mohammadi , H Saied, W Gomaa, S Moawad , A Fathy, H Abd-Rabou, A Hassan, H Ghaly , M Zidan, E Meteb

SEE ALSO |  Europa League Winners – The Complete List Since Inception

How many African Cups has Ghana won?

Unlike the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Ghana has won the AFCON four times – 1963, 1965, 1978, and 1982.

Also, they have been runners-up five times – 1968, 1970, 1992, 2010, and 2015.

Alright, back to my list of past African Nations Cup winners.

By the way, the all-time top scorers at the AFCON has been captured in this article. You can check it out.

The last AFCON competition was hosted by Egypt in 2019 and it was Algeria that lifted the title.

Manchester City attacker, Riyad Mahrez singlehandedly shattered the hope of Gernot Rohr’s men in the semi-final stage of the competition when he scored a free-kick in extra time changing the scoreline from 1-1 to 2-1.

SEE ALSO | All Liverpool Managers Listed In Order: See All 21 OF Them

Man City star Riyad Mahrez’s brilliant 95th-minute free-kick against Nigeria

Nigeria went home with her customary third place bronze medal against Tunisia.

Liverpool star player Sadio Mane just couldn’t do anything for his Senegalese side to stop Mahrez and Slimani of Sporting CP.

The game ended in a lone goal for Algeria to win their second AFCON trophy after a long while, winning it last in 1990.

It’s time I got to my AFCON past winners list.

SEE ALSO |  Best All-Time Super Eagles of Nigeria XI

List Of African Cup Of Nations Past Winners

YearHostChampion (Titles)Coach(Country)
1957 Sudan Egypt (1)Mourad Fahmy(Egypt)
1959 Egypt Egypt (2)Pál Titkos(Hungary)
1962 Ethiopia Ethiopia (1)Ydnekatchew Tessema(Ethiopia)
1963 Ghana Ghana (1)Charles Gyamfi(Ghana)
1965 Tunisia Ghana (2)Charles Gyamfi(Ghana)
1968 Ethiopia Congo-Kinshasa (1)Ferenc Csanádi(Hungary)
1970 Sudan Sudan (1)Jiří Starosta(Czechoslovakia)
1972 Cameroon Congo (1)Adolphe Bibanzoulou(Republic of Congo)
1974 Egypt Zaire (2)Blagoje Vidinić(Yugoslavia)
1976 Ethiopia Morocco (1)Gheorghe Mărdărescu(Romania)
1978 Ghana Ghana (3)Fred Osam-Duodu(Ghana)
1980 Nigeria Nigeria (1)Otto Glória(Brazil)
1982 Libya Ghana (4)Charles Gyamfi(Ghana)
1984 Ivory Coast Cameroon (1) Radivoje Ognjanović(Yugoslavia)
1986 Egypt Egypt (3)Mike Smith(England )
1988 Morocco Cameroon (2)Claude Le Roy(France)
1990 Algeria Algeria (1)Abdelhamid Kermali(Algeria)
1992 Senegal Ivory Coast (1)Yeo Martial(Ivory Coast )
1994 Tunisia Nigeria (2)Clemens Westerhof(Netherlands)
1996 South Africa South Africa (1)Clive Barker(South Africa)
1998 Burkina Faso Egypt (4)Mahmoud El-Gohary(Egypt)
2000 Ghana/NigeriaCameroon (3)Pierre Lechantre(France)
2002 Mali Cameroon (4) Winfried Schäfer(Germany)
2004 Tunisia Tunisia (1)Roger Lemerre(France)
2006 Egypt Egypt (5)Hassan Shehata(Egypt)
2008 Ghana Egypt (6)Hassan Shehata(Egypt)
2010 Angola Egypt (7)Hassan Shehata(Egypt)
2012 Gabon/Equatorial GuineaZambia (1)Hervé Renard(France)
2013 South Africa Nigeria (3)Stephen Keshi(Nigeria)
2015 Equatorial Guinea Ivory Coast (2)Hervé Renard(France)
2017 Gabon Cameroon (5)Hugo Broos(Belgium)
2019 Egypt Algeria (2)Djamel Belmadi(Algeria)

Here is a breakdown of the table above:

SEE ALSO |  Odion Ighalo Profile, Net Worth, Salary, Stats, Wife, Houses

Countries With The Most Africa Cup Of Nations Trophies

Team   Winners

 Congo            :1 (1972)

 South Africa: 1 (1996)

 Morocco:       1 (1976)

 Ethiopia:        1 (1962)

 Sudan:           1 (1970)

 Tunisia:          1 (2004)

 Zambia:          1 (2012)

 DR Congo:     2 (19682, 19743)

 Algeria:          2 (1990, 2019)

 Ivory Coast:   2 (1992, 2015)

 Nigeria:          3 (1980, 1994, 2013)

 Ghana: 4 (1963, 1965, 1978, 1982)

 Cameroon:    5 (1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017)

 Egypt:            7 (1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010)

SEE ALSO |  Nigeria 2002 World Cup Squad – The Entire Team List

I don’t think you’ll find any list of past AFCON winners more complete and thorough.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Notify me of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments