LMC Approve 13 Stadia For 2020-21 NPFL Matches

LMC Approve 13 Stadia For 2020-21 NPFL Matches

The League Management Company have fixed the calendar of the Nigerian Professional Football League to commence any time from November 15, 2020, and end it in June 2021.

As a result, the LMC have approved 13 stadia to play hosts to NPFL’s 21 matches and also listed 11 others for varying degrees of upgrade/repairs.

Approved stadia are Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos; Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo; Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin; Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba; Okigwe Township Stadium; Adokiye Amiesimaka Stadium, Port Harcourt; Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi; Pantami Stadium, Gombe.

Others are Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi; Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna; Enyimba Stadium, Aba; Muhammadu Dikko Stadium, Katsina; Ilorin Township Stadium.

Listed for upgrade/repair are Umuahia Township Stadium; Dutse Township Stadium; Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano; Agege Stadium; Akure Stadium; Warri City Stadium; New Jos Stadium; Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu; Lafia Township Stadium; Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium, Nnewi; Fufure Stadium, Yola

The stadia listed for upgrade/repair require relaying of new playing surfaces (pitches), provision of floodlights, TV camera platforms, upgrade of changing rooms, additional exit & entry gates among others.

Umuahia Township Stadium & Dutse Township Stadium are however recommended for complete remodeling and reconstruction.

SEE ALSO | Mikel Gets First Championship Home Win With Stoke City Against Brentford

Meanwhile, the NPFL clubs have been giving the nod to make five substitutions in the 2020-2021 season owing to fears that players might sustain injuries due to involvement in several matches.

This article was most recently revised and updated 6 months ago

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.