Shooting Stars FC – News, players, stadium

Shooting Stars FC – News, players, stadium
Credit @ShootingSc Twitter

Shooting Stars FC have a lot of expectations going into the 2023/24 NPFL season.

The Oluyole Warriors have a chequered history and will want to restore the glory of yesteryears.

The Ibadan-based side has not won the league in a long time and will hope their fortunes change this time.

We give you insights into one of the most successful clubs in Nigeria.

Shooting Stars FC history

shooting stars fc
Credit @ShootingSc Twitter

Shooting Stars FC, also known as 3SC, is an illustrious club. Few in the country can match its history. The Oluyole Warriors, as popularly known, are based in Ibadan. 

They started as WNDC Ibadan and were one of the founders of the Nigerian Premier League in 1972. The Ibadan-based side became known as IICC (Industrial Investment and Credit Corporation) Shooting Stars of Ibadan.

Undoubtedly one of the most supported clubs in the country, Shooting Stars FC have won many accolades, both at home and abroad.

Many notable names have played for the famous Ibadan side. They include Rashidi Yekini, Segun Odegbami, Felix Owolabi, Niyi Akande, Taiwo Ogunjobi, Duke Udi and Olumide Harris. They have a traditional rivalry with Enugu Rangers (another club with a rich history).

Shooting Stars FC have been in and out of the NPFL. Since their return to the elite division in 2020, they have remained there but failed to reenact the glory days of yore.

Shooting Stars manager

shooting stars fc Gbenga Ogunbote
Credit @Undisputed_Jsam Twitter

Gbenga Ogunbote is the current manager of Shooting Stars FC.

The former Enugu Rangers coach joined the Oluyole Warriors after the expiration of his one-year deal at Remo Stars.

Ogunbote returned to the club for his third stint in 2019 and replaced Edith Agoye, who had been at the helm for six years.

Former Super Eagles midfielder Mutiu Adepoju is the Director of Football at the club.

Shooting Stars FC Players


  • Anozie Chinedu
  • Darlington Ovunda
  • Okiemute Odah
  • Bamidele Adeniyi
  • Dare Godwin Dede
  • Okechukwu Johnson


  • Michael Enaruma
  • Emeka Obiora
  • Ifeatu Evans
  • Aniyikaye Adeleye
  • Waheed Omololu
  • Uche Ezeala
  • Desmond Ojietefian
  • Otakho Alex Aghahowa
  • Uche Odeh
  • Alimi Adebayo
  • Ikouwem Utin
  • Isaac Afolabi
  • Ubong Williams
  • Nurudeen Amodu
  • Akintunde Bala Oloyade
  • Bafan Augustine
  • Taiye Murtala
  • Olamilekan Oderinde
  • Raheem Quadry
  • Ismail Ghali Falke


  • Daddy Abdulrahman
  • Abiodun Joshua Odewale
  • Olamide Benjamin Ogunbajo
  • Nonso Anike
  • Mutiu Isiaka
  • Desmond Agbekpornu
  • Raheem Nafie
  • Chibuike Ewenike
  • Sunday Akleche
  • Mohammed Akilu
  • Tope Orelope
  • Uko Anietie
  • Promise Damala
  • Malomo Taofeek Ayodeji
  • Douglas Achiv
  • Chinedu Enuademu
  • Gabriel Dada Adeboye
  • Destiny Ashadi


  • Godwin Udoh
  • Sochima Elum
  • Osegale Oyemonlan
  • Opeoluwa Olufemi 
  • Samuel Tiza Iorwuese
  • Akintunde Azeez
  • Olaitan Fabode
  • Joshua Akpan
  • Ayo Adejubu
  • Samuel Ayanrinde
  • Abdulkareem Mumuni
  • Anayor Ogbonna
  • Gbenga Benedict
  • Gafar Olafimihan
  • Ajani Ibrahim

New Signings

  • Taiye Murtala (Right-Back) – Akwa United
  • Daddy Abdulrahman (Midfield) – El Kanemi Warriors
  • Emeka Obiora (Midfield) – Lobi Stars
  • Olamide Benjamin Ogunbajo – Al-Hilal SC
  • Anozie Chinedu (Goalkeeper) – Plateau United


  • Alimi Sikiru (Centre-Forward) – Remo Stars FC
  • Kester Oahimijie (Midfield) – Bendel Insurance
  • Ezekiel Tamara (Midfield) – Bendel Insurance

Shooting Stars Stadium

Shooting Stars FC play home games at the Adamasingba Stadium (Lekan Salami Stadium). The stadium is well-known in Nigeria and has the reputation of being a fortress for the Oluyole Warriors. 

It is a multi-purpose stadium in Ibadan, Nigeria. It is currently used for football matches and is the home stadium of Shooting Stars FC and other local teams in Ibadan. 

The Adamasingba stadium has a capacity of 10,000 people.

Shooting Stars FC player salaries

shooting stars fc
Credit @ShootingSc Twitter

Shooting Stars players seem to be well-remunerated. Reports suggest that the club pays their players as much as N300,000. 

There are reports of certain players receiving as much as N500,000 per month.

Shooting Stars FC achievements

Nigerian Premier League

Champions (5): 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, 1998

Nigerian FA Cup

Winners (8): 1959, 1961, 1966, 1969, 1971 (as WNDC), 1977, 1979, 1995

African Cup of Champions Clubs

Runners-up: 1984, 1996


Winners: 1992

African Cup Winners' Cup

Winners: 1976

West African Club Championship

Winners: 1998

Performance in CAF competitions

African Cup of Champions Clubs/CAF Champions League: 5 appearances

  • 1972 – Second Round
  • 1981 – Second Round
  • 1984 – Runners-up
  • 1996 – Runners-up
  • 1999 – Group stage

CAF Cup: 3 appearances

  • 1992 – Champion
  • 1993 – First Round
  • 1995 – Second Round

CAF Cup Winners' Cup: 4 appearances

  • 1976 – Champion
  • 1977 – Semi-finals
  • 1978 – First Round
  • 1980 – Quarter-finals

Shooting Stars FC team news

Ogunbote predicts greatness for Shooting Stars FC

Ahead of the 2023/24 NPFL season kicking off next month, the coach of Shooting Stars FC has hailed his team. 

Gbenga Ogunbote says his team will put up a good show when the Nigeria Professional Football League starts later this month.

Shooting Stars signs Adamimogo FC prodigy

Shooting Stars FC have secured the services of Ogundahunsola Ambrose ahead of the NPFL 2023/2024 league season.

This article was most recently revised and updated 9 months ago

Chooka Izuegbuna is a Sports Journalist with 20 years of experience in print, TV and Radio. He has worked with some of the top media houses in Nigeria, including NTA Network, Channels TV, TVC, Silverbird TV and MITV. Chooka broke his sports reporting teeth with The Game Football Weekly in 2003 as a cartoonist and reporter. Chooka has a passion for football and has been a fan of Enugu Rangers (over 30 years) and Real Madrid (Since 1996).