Super Eagles squad announcement date for AFCON 2023

Super Eagles squad announcement date for AFCON 2023
Credit: Icon Sport

As football fans across Nigeria continue to wait for the final Super Eagles squad that will be flying the flag of the country at the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Ivory Coast next year, players are currently on the hot seat before the final announcement.

Nigeria head coach Jose Peseiro last week joined other Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON)-bound coaches to send their provisional list of players from where they will select a final squad of not more than 27 players to prosecute the competition.

Current Super Eagles Players and their State of Origin
Credit: Icon Sport

Following a decision by the CAF Organising Committee of the AFCON, all 24 teams will be permitted a final squad of 27 players, four more than the initial 23 from previous tournaments. Although naming 27 players is not compulsory, teams are expected to name squad as big as that.

“In case a team submits a final squad of between 24 and 27 players, only 23 of them will be available for selection for each match during the tournament.

“Meanwhile, a player in the final squad can only be replaced after a serious injury no less than 24 hours before the team’s first match following the approval of the medical certificate by the CAF Medical Committee,” the information obtained on the CAF website read.

Peseiro has until January 3, 2024 – eleven days to Nigeria’s opening game against Equatorial Guinea – to release his final Super Eagles squad of not more than twenty-seven (27) players for the tournament.

The final tournament will take place from January 13 to February 11, 2024, in the Ivorian cities of Abidjan, Bouake, Korhogo, San Pedro and Yamoussoukro.

Super Eagles Sqaud – Provisional List

Newly-crowned African Footballer of the Year Victor Osimhen leads the cast of the regular suspects which also includes Fulham midfielder Alex Iwobi, Milan’s Samuel Chukwueze, Kelechi Iheanacho and Nantes’ Daddy Moses Simon.

In terms of experience, Team captain Ahmed Musa and Kenneth Omeruo – the only two players in the team to have won the AFCON previously were also included in the provisional list. 

Belgium based players Alhassan Yusuf, Jordan Torunarigha and the other five goalkeepers invited aside Uzoho are in the AFCON provisional list for the first time.

In total, Peseiro listed six goalkeepers, 13 defenders, eight midfielders and 13 forwards.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Adebayo Adeleye, Ojo Olorunleke, Stanley Nwabali, Amas Obasogie, Christian Nwoke.

Defenders: Ola Aina, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Tyronne Ebuehi, Jamilu Collins, Zaidu Sanusi, Bruno Onyemaechi, William Troost-Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Kenneth Omeruo, Kevin Akpoguma, Chidozie Awaziem, Jordan Torunarigha.

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Joe Aribo, Alex Iwobi, Alhassan Yusuf, Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, Raphael Onyedika Nwadike, Kelechi Nwakali.

Attackers: Victor Osimhen,  Victor Boniface, Terem Moffi, Umar Sadiq, Ahmed Musa, Paul Onuachu, Cyriel Dessers, Ademola Lookman, Nathan Tella, Moses Simon, Emmanuel Dennis, Samuel Chukwueze, Kelechi Iheanacho.

Players likely to miss out on AFCON 2023

The CAF deadline for the submission of final squads is January 3, and given the calibre of the Super Eagles squad and those Jose Peseiro has worked with in the last one year, It might be easy for him to select his final squad.

In the forward line, Rangers forward Cyriel Dessers and former Watford striker Emmanuel Dennis are expected to be dropped from the squad. Both of them have fallen down in the pecking order. 

In the goalkeeping department, Amas Obasogie of Bendel Insurance and Sporting Lagos’ Christian Nwoke could be on their way out, while Tom Dele-Bashiru of Hatayspor, Hoffenheim’s Kevin Akpoguma, and Cardiff’s left-back Jamilu Collins are also likely not to make the cut.

This article was most recently revised and updated 2 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!