Dennerby Release Super Falcons lists for 2019 Women’s World Cup

Dennerby Release Super Falcons lists for 2019 Women’s World Cup

Ahead of the 8th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals, Defender Onome Ebi, midfielder Ngozi Okobi and forward Desire Oparanozie top the list of 27 players Super Falcons’ Head Coach Thomas Dennerby has listed for the team’s final camping programme.

Ademola Olajire, the Director of Communications, Nigeria Football Federation in a statement on Monday said the final list of 23 players would emerge from the 27-player list after the camping.

SEE ALSO: NFF Set Up 10 Pre-World Cup Friendlies For Super Falcons

They all played key roles in the Super Falcons’ ninth continental triumph in Ghana late last year.

“Kanu, as well as home-based professionals Amarachi Okoronkwo, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Chidinma Okeke and Chiamaka Nnadozie, have equally been called up,’’ the NFF official said in the statement.

The Super Falcons would depart for Austria from Abuja on May 20 for the Avita Resort in Bad Tatzmannsdorf and leave Austria on June 4 for Reims in France, where they open their World Cup campaign against Norway on June 8.

The Super Falcons have been drawn in Group A with France, Korea Republic and Norway.

Super Falcons Full list of players:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Ebere (Arna Bjornar, Norway); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Josephine Chukwunonye (Kungsbacka DFF, Sweden); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo)

Midfielders: Cecilia Nku (Ferencvaros Torna, Hungary); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Ogonna Chukwudi (Djurgardens IF, Sweden); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons)

SEE ALSO: Women's World Cup Trophy Tour: FIFA Officials Arrive Nigeria

Forwards: Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Anam Imo (Malmo FC Rosengard, Sweden); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Uchenna Kanu (Southeastern University, USA); Rasheedat Ajibade (Alvadsnes IL, Norway); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai W. FC); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Brighton Hove & Albion, England); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels)


This article was most recently revised and updated 5 years ago

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.