UEFA Men’s Player Of The Year: Messi, Ronaldo Omitted From Shortlist First Time Ever

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo do not have their names on the shortlist for the Uefa Men's Player Of The Year crown for the first time since it was created in 2011.

The three finalists have been confirmed with Kevin de Bruyne joining Bayern Munich stars Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer.

Polish forward Lewandowski is the hot favourite for the award, smashing 55 goals in all competitions from 47 appearances.

No player has won the UEFA trophy more than Ronaldo, honoured for 2013-14, 2015-16 and 2016-17 with nominations in six other years.

The Argentine, meanwhile, claimed the 2010-11 and 2014-15 crowns alongside his six Ballon d'Or wins.

Both men won the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year award that preceded this prize on one occasion.

Votes were cast by the 80 coaches in charge of Champions League and Europa League group stage sides, along with 55 top journalists representing each nation.

SEE ALSO | ‘Mikel Obi Is The Most Annoying Player I Have Officiated’ – Referee

UEFA's award will be handed out on October 1, during the Champions League group stage draw.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago