₦85.3 BILLION – Women’s World Cup prize money revealed

₦85.3 BILLION – Women’s World Cup prize money revealed
Credit: Iconsport

FIFA delivers on its promise to bridge the gender pay gap by allocating the majority of the ₦85.3 Billion Women's World Cup 2023 prize pool directly to players.

FIFA has made good on its promise to allocate the majority of its ₦85.3 Billion prize pool money to the players participating in the upcoming Women's World Cup 2023. This decision marks a significant step forward in addressing the disparity in pay between male and female soccer players.

Under this new distribution scheme, every player competing in the tournament will receive a minimum payment of $45,000 AUD (₦23.1 Million), which is more than double the average salary earned by female players in the previous year.

The positive news extends further for the 23 players who make up the championship-winning team. If they are able to lift the trophy at Stadium Australia, each player will take home a staggering $405,000 AUD (₦208 million).

Additionally, this change means that over half of FIFA's total prize money fund of $165 million AUD (₦85.3 Billion) will be distributed equally among all players across the 32 teams participating in the tournament. This represents a significant increase compared to the $45 million AUD (₦23.1 Billion) awarded in the previous edition of the Women's World Cup.

Even for those teams exiting the tournament during the group stage, the financial rewards will far surpass the salaries earned by players at their respective club teams. According to FIFA's 2022 benchmarking report, the average salary for paid players was $21,000 AUD (₦10 million), while each player in the group stage will receive $45,000 AUD (₦23.1 Million).

For teams that progress beyond the group stage, the financial rewards increase. Those eliminated in the Round of 16 will receive $90,000 AUD (₦46.3 Million), per player, while those reaching the quarterfinals will be awarded $135,000 AUD (₦69.5 Million). The fourth-place team will take home $247,000 AUD (₦127.3 Million) per player, and the third-place team will receive $270,000 AUD (₦139.1 Million). The runners-up will receive $292,000 AUD (₦150.4 Million), and the ultimate champions will earn $405,000 AUD (₦208.6 Million).

Breakdown of Payments for Each Player in the Women's World Cup

  • Group stage: ₦23.1 Million
  • Round of 16: ₦46.3 Million
  • Quarter-final: ₦69.5 Million
  • Fourth place: ₦127.3 Million
  • Third place: ₦139.1 Million
  • Second place: ₦150.4 Million
  • Winners: ₦208.6 Million

In terms of the total prize money distribution, FIFA will allocate $15.7 million AUD to the title-winning nation at Stadium Australia. The majority of this amount, $9.3 million AUD, will be distributed among the players, while the remaining $6.4 million AUD will be granted to the national federation.

These significant increases in prize money represent a crucial step forward in addressing gender pay disparities in football. By providing substantial financial rewards to the players participating in the Women's World Cup, FIFA acknowledges the importance of equal recognition and compensation for their efforts.

Asisat Oshoala Praises FIFA's Financial Rewards for Women's World Cup 2023

Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala has expressed her belief that the financial rewards offered by FIFA for the Women's World Cup 2023 will inspire players and mark a significant step forward for the sport.

Oshoala, who has been named African Player of the Year five times, commended the decision to allocate funds directly to players rather than national federations.

In an interview with BBC Sport Africa, Oshoala expressed her satisfaction with the changing landscape of women's football, stating,

“I'm happy things are beginning to change and players don't have to be dependent on their federations for income from World Cup appearances alone. It really is interesting to see such development because it will serve as a motivation to the players.”

Under FIFA's new framework, if African teams progress beyond the group stages, the federations will receive increased financial rewards.

FIFA has also made it clear to national federations that it expects the funds retained by member associations to be reinvested in footballing activities such as coaching staff, grassroots projects, youth national teams, and women's football capacity-building programs.

Oshoala believes that this move will have a positive impact on the game in Africa. She emphasized that FIFA's monitoring of these funds and ensuring their appropriate allocation will not only improve the sport but also provide individual benefits to the players.

As a player who has experienced success at the highest level, including winning the UEFA Women's Champions League twice with Barcelona, Oshoala understands the importance of financial support and investment in the development of women's football.

With FIFA's new approach, there is hope that more resources will be allocated to improving the infrastructure, coaching, and opportunities for women's football across the African continent.

By empowering players and directly incentivizing their performances in major tournaments, FIFA's financial rewards system aims to create a more sustainable and equitable environment for women's football worldwide. Asisat Oshoala's optimism reflects the potential impact of these changes and the motivation they can provide to players striving for success on the global stage.

This article was most recently revised and updated 11 months ago

Rababe Koussaimi, a 22-year-old journalist, is deeply passionate about the world of sports. She grew up in a footballing environment, supporting both Bayern Munich and Wydad Athletic Club. She began her English journalism career by hosting a podcast for the first English radio station in Morocco. Currently, the Moroccan journalist channels her enthusiasm into writing and conducting extensive research, creating insightful and engaging content for GoalBall Live readers.