2019-20 UEFA Champions League Seeds Confirmed

2019-20 UEFA Champions League Seeds Confirmed

Liverpool are confirmed as the final seeds for next season's Champions League group-stage draw after Jurgen Klopp's side lifted the trophy in Madrid on Saturday night with a 2-0 victory over Tottenham Hotspur at the Wanda Metropolitano.

The winners of the Champions League automatically slot into Pot 1, which is kept for the holders of the two European competitions and the champions of the six biggest domestic leagues.

SEE ALSO: List of Premier League Winners: Complete From (1889)

According to ESPN, the Reds will join Europa League holders Chelsea among the eight seeds, along with Barca (La Liga), Manchester City (Premier League), Juventus (Serie A), Bayern Munich (Bundesliga), Paris Saint-Germain (Ligue 1), Zenit Saint-Petersburg (Russian Premier).

The Premier League will, accordingly, have three teams in Pot 1.

The rest of the teams are seeded based on UEFA's five-year coefficient score for performance in European competition, with the strongest teams in Pot 2 and the weakest in Pot 4.

One team from each pot will be drawn into the eight Champions League groups in the draw ceremony on August 29.

Spurs have a greater chance of a favourable draw this season from Pot 2.

SEE ALSO: Europa League Winners – The Complete List Since Inception

Ajax, if they come through qualifying, will profit from the Blues winning the Europa League by taking the spare place in Pot 2.

The teams in Pot 1 are now confirmed, while provisional pots can be drawn up for the others – though the teams in bold are guaranteed to be in that pot – based on the highest-ranked clubs progressing through qualifying.

  • POT 1: Liverpool, Chelsea, Barcelona, Manchester City, Juventus, Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain, Zenit St Petersburg
  • POT 2 (provisional): Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, FC Porto*, Tottenham Hotspur, Borussia Dortmund, Napoli, Shakhtar Donetsk, Ajax*
  • POT 3 (provisional): Benfica, Dynamo Kiev*, Lyon, Bayer Leverkusen, FC Salzburg, Valencia, Inter Milan, Celtic*
  • POT 4 (provisional): FC Copenhagen*, Dinamo Zagreb*, Lokomotiv Moscow, Genk, Galatasaray, RB Leipzig, Atalanta, Lille

SEE ALSO: Highest Goal Scorers in Champions League (2018/19) – The Complete List

*denotes must go through qualifying

This article was most recently revised and updated 5 years ago