AFCON golden boot winners: All past and present awardees listed

AFCON golden boot winners: All past and present awardees listed
Credit: Icon Sport

AFCON Golden Boot winners: As the Africa Cup of Nations approaches, football enthusiasts eagerly anticipate the electrifying competition set to unfold in Ivory Coast.

Amidst the fervor of the tournament, one of the most coveted honors is the Golden Boot award, bestowed upon the player who demonstrates goal-scoring prowess throughout the event.

In this comprehensive overview, we delve into the past and present AFCON Golden Boot winners, celebrating the prolific goal-scorers who have left an indelible mark on the tournament's history.

AFCON Golden Boot winners: Celebrating Nigeria's goal-scoring excellence

ICONSPORT 73628255
Credit: Icon Sport

The AFCON Golden Boot winners hold a special place in the rich history of the Africa Cup of Nations, showcasing exceptional goal-scoring prowess on the continental stage.

When Odion Ighalo was bestowed with the prestigious Africa Cup of Nations Golden Boot at the Egypt 2019 AFCON, it marked a historic moment as he became the 6th Nigerian and the 56th African player to claim this esteemed award.

Ighalo's five-goal performance showcased his exceptional goal-scoring prowess, aligning him with Nigerian football legends who have previously secured the AFCON Golden Boot.

Joining the ranks of Segun Odegbami (3 goals, AFCON 1980), Rashidi Yekini (5 goals, 1994), Julius Aghahowa (3 goals, 2002), Austin Okocha (4 goals, 2004), and Emmanuel Emenike (4 goals, 2013), Ighalo's achievement adds another illustrious chapter to Nigeria's AFCON legacy.

List of AFCON Golden Boot winners

The table provides a comprehensive overview of AFCON Golden Boot winners from 1957 to 2021.

It includes the respective years, the players or players (in cases of ties), and the number of goals they scored during the tournament.

Notable names such as Samuel Eto’o, Rashidi Yekini, and Laurent Pokou feature prominently, showcasing their significant goal-scoring contributions to their respective national teams in AFCON history.

1957 Ad El Diba (Egypt) 5
1959 Mahmoud Al Gohari (Egypt) 3
1962 Mohamed Al Badawi (Egypt), Worku Mengistu (Ethiopia) 3
1963 Ahmed Al Chazli (Egypt) 6
1965 Abbrey Osei Kofi (Ghana), Eustace Mangli (Ivory Coast) 3
1968 Laurent Pokou (Ivory Coast) 6
1970 Laurent Pokou (Ivory Coast) 8
1972 Salif Keita (Mali) 5
1974 Pierre Ndaye Mulamba 9
1976 William Njo Lea (Guinea) 4
1978 Phillip Omondi (Uganda) 4
1980 Segun Odegbami (Nigeria) 3
1982 George Al Hassan (Ghana) 4
1984 Taher Abou Zeid (Egypt) 4
1986 Roger Milla (Cameroon), Abdoulaye Traore (Ivory Coast) 4
1988 Lakhdar Belloumi (Algeria), Roger Milla (Cameroon), Gamal Abdelhamid (Egypt), Abdoulaye Traore (Ivory Coast) 4
1990 Djamel Menad (Algeria) 4
1992 Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria) 4
1994 Rashidi Yekini (Nigeria) 5
1996 Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia) 5
1998 Hossam Hassan (Egypt), Benni McCarthy (South Africa) 7
2000 Shaun Bartlett (South Africa) 5
2002 Patrick Mboma(Cameroon), Salomon Olembe (Cameroon), Julius Aghahowa (Nigeria) 3
2004 Patrick Mboma (Cameroon), Frederic Kanoute (Mali), Austin Okocha (Nigeria), Youssef Mokhtari (Morocco), Francileudo dos Santos (Tunisia) 4
2006 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Ahmed Hassan (Egypt), Francileudo dos Santos (Tunisia) 4
2008 Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon) 5
2010 Mohamed Nagui (Egypt) 5
2012 Manucho (Angola), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Cheick Tidiane Diabate (Mali), Houcine Kharja (Morocco) Chris Katongo (Zambia), Emmanuel Mayuka (Zambia) 3
2013 Emmanuel Emenike (Nigeria), Mubarak Wakaso (Ghana) 4
2015 Ahmed Akaichi (Tunisia), Andre Ayew (Ghana), Dieumerci Mbokani (DR Congo), Javier Balboa (Equatorial Guinea), Thievy Biffouma (Congo) 3
2017 Junior Kabananga (DR Congo) 3
2019 Odion Ighalo (Nigeria) 5
2021 Vincent Aboubakar 8

This article was most recently revised and updated 2 months ago

Rababe Koussaimi, a 22-year-old football journalist, is deeply passionate about the world of sports. The Moroccan journalist channels her enthusiasm into writing and conducting extensive research, creating insightful and engaging content for GoalBallLive readers.