African Women Footballer Of The Year Listed From 2001 Till Date

African Women Footballer Of The Year Listed From 2001 Till Date
Credit: Icon Sport

On Monday 11 December 2023, Asisat Oshoala was entered into the history books as the African Women Footballer of the year 2023.

She became a record six-time winner of the award at the 2023 CAF awards which were held in Morocco. No African player has won the CAF footballer of the year award more than four times.

She also shared the stage with Super Eagles man, Victor Osimhen, who won the award for the men's category.

With the Barcelona Femeni striker’s latest triumph, here is what the winners’ list for the African Women Footballer Of The Year now looks like.

Winners of the African Women Footballer Of The Year from 2001

The Nigerian chokehold on the African Women Footballer Of The Year award category is immense.

Since its inception in 2001, the Super Falcons have the most nominations and winners. Four of the Nigeria women's national football team's best and brightest have won the award since Inception, with only one of them not being a multiple winner.

Ghana and South Africa are the second most successful teams in the awards with two winners each.

The 2009 and 2013 editions were not awarded despite the awards ceremony being held. In 2020 and 2021, CAF did not hold the awards due to coronavirus.

This is the list of winners by nationality from 2001 to date.

Nationality Number of Awardees
Nigeria 13
Ghana 2
South Africa 2
Equatorial Guinea 1
Cameroon 1

Asisat Oshoala is making a case for the record to be renamed after her thanks to her immense value as a women's footballer from the continent of Africa. For her sixth record breaking and setting award, she beat off competition from South Africa and Racing Louisville's Thembi Kgatlana and Zambia and Shanghai Sengli's Barbra Banda.

Here is the full list of winners of the African Women Footballer Of The Year award to date.

Year Awardee Nationality
2001 Mercy Akide Nigeria
2002 Alberta Sackey Ghana
2003 Adjoa Bayor Ghana
2004 Perpetua Nkwocha Nigeria
2005 Perpetua Nkwocha Nigeria
2006 Cynthia Uwak Nigeria
2007 Cynthia Uwak Nigeria
2008 Noko Matlou South Africa
2009 Not awarded Not awarded
2010 Perpetua Nkwocha Nigeria
2011 Perpetua Nkwocha Nigeria
2012 Genoveva Añonma Equatorial Guinea
2013 Not awarded Not awarded
2014 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria
2015 Gaëlle Enganamouit Cameroon
2016 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria
2017 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria
2018 Thembi Kgatlana South Africa
2019 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria
2020 Not awarded Not awarded
2021 Not awarded Not awarded
2022 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria
2023 Asisat Oshoala Nigeria

Congratulations flow in for African Women Footballer Of The Year Oshoala and other Nigerian winners

2023 African Women Footballer Of The Year Asisat Oshoala was lauded by Nigerian political and sports figures, who shared their messages of goodwill alongside regular Nigerian football fans.

“Hearty congratulations to the duo of Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala. Thank God for the many Nigerians making us proud in various fields of endeavour,” businesswoman and politician Remi Sonaiya wrote on X (formerly known as Twitter).

“Long live the new King and Queen of Africa, Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala,” 2009 CAF men’s player of the year Awardee, Didier Drogba wrote on X.

Media personality Dr Kelechi Anyikude wrote: “Congrats my people, Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala for winning the CAF men's and women's player of the year. NAIJA NO DEY CARRY LAST!”

The congratulations keep rolling in and Nigerians now look forward to the six-time African Women Footballer Of The Year playing a key role in the Super Falcons.

This article was most recently revised and updated 2 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!