CAF 2023 Awards: Women’s Coach of the Year nominees unveiled

CAF 2023 Awards: Women’s Coach of the Year nominees unveiled
Credit: Icon Sport

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the nominees for the Women's Coach of the Year award.

The CAF awards are organized every year in a bid to celebrate footballers, coaches, teams and everyone who have performed brilliantly for Women's football in the continent and around the world.

The award ceremony will take place in Morocco on 11 December 2023 which is the same day for the Men's award.

Desiree Ellis: Top contender for Women's Coach of the Year award

Bafana Bafana coach Desiree Ellis will battle nine other nominees for the individual prize following what has been an exceptional year in review for the tactician.

Ellis won the Women Africa Cup of Nations with the South African Women's national team in 2022 and also made history as she guided the team to a Round of 16 finish in the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup, the first time ever for Bafana Bafana.

South Africa women's coach
Credit: Icon Sport

However, Ellis will face a tough battle with Nigeria's Super Falcons head coach, Randy Waldrum, who is also in the running for the Coach of the Year award after guiding the Falcons to the Round of 16 in the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup.

Waldrum and his team never lost a match in normal time in the women's tournament, only losing to England on penalties in the round of 16.

The winner of the CAF Women's Coach of the Year along with each category in the women's awards, will be decided by a voting panel made up of CAF Technical Committee, media representatives, head coaches and captains of Member Associations and clubs involved at the group stage of the Interclub competitions for the 2022/23 season.

The full list of Women's Coach of the Year nominees

  • Nana Joe Adarkwa (Apmen Darkoa)
  • Lovemore Fazili (Malawi)
  • Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
  • Mohamed Amine (Asfar)
  • Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  • Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
  • Moussa Cisse (Senegal)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Jerry Tshabalala ( Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Esther Chamruma (JFT Queens)

CAF also released nominees for various awards that are up for grabs in the women's category:

Interclub 2023 Women's Player of the Year nominees

  • Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana)
  • N' Guessan Nagede Koffi (Côte d'Ivoire)
  • Elena Oyana (Equatorial Guinea
  • Comfort Yeboah (Ghana)
  • Tracy Twum (Ghana)
  • Oumou Kone (Mali)
  • Aziza Rabbah (Morocco)
  • Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco)
  • Ghizlane Chebbak (Morocco)
  • Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa)

Women's Goalkeeper of the Year nominees

  • Ange Bawou (Cameroon)
  • Dolores Masongo (Equatorial Guinea)
  • Imane Abdelhahad (Morocco)
  • Khadijah ER-Rmichi (Morocco)
  • Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria)
  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa)
  • Kaylin Smart (South Africa)
  • Najiat Abass Idrisa (Tanzania)
  • Catherine Musonda (Zambia)
  • Cynthia Shongwe (Zimbabwe)

Women's National Team of the Year

  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Ghana
  • Malawi
  • Senegal
  • South Africa
  • Zambia
  • Tanzania

Nominees for Women's Club of the Year

  • Athletico FC D' Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire)
  • Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea)
  • Ampem Darkoa Ladies (Ghana)
  • AS Mande (Mali)
  • AS Far (Morocco )
  • SC Casablanca (Morocco)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • JFT Queen (Tanzania)

This article was most recently revised and updated 7 months ago

Joseph is a freelance writer who spends most of his time writing engaging football contents. Based in Nigeria, Joseph is a die-hard Real Madrid fan with over 8 years experience in the sports betting space. He has covered football match previews, predictions, and news across leagues in Africa and Europe.