Chelsea’s UEFA Super Cup Final Prize Money Revealed

Chelsea defeated Villarreal 6-5 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in the UEFA Super Cup final Wednesday night in Belfast.

Hakim Ziyech opened the scoring for Chelsea before Gerard Moreno restored parity for the LaLiga side as the match ended 1-1 after 120minutes.

Kepa Arrizabalaga, who came off the bench, was the unlikely hero after he saved two kicks during the shootout to give the Blues the UEFA Super Cup.

“It was not spontaneous,” said Tuchel who explained the plan had been hatched in the FA Cup last season. “We talked about it with the goalkeepers after the first cup game against Barnsley.  

“Kepa has the best percentage at saving penalties, the analysing guys and goalkeeping coaches showed me the data.  

“We spoke to the players that this could happen when we play in knockout games. It’s fantastic how Edouard (Mendy) accepted it.      

“There is proof that Kepa is better in this discipline. They’re team players. Edouard does not show the pride to not step off the field. He was happy to do it for the team and take this for the team.”

UEFA Super Cup prize money 2021

UEFA will pay Chelsea €5million (around $ 5.86million) for winning this year’s UEFA Super Cup ahead of Villarreal.

The top European football governing body will also pay Villarreal €3million ($3.51million) for losing the UEFA Super Cup final to Chelsea, Bolavip reports.

Year after year the amount that the winners receive increases, as does the money that the losing team gets.

The prize money of the cup increased a little more compared to last year (2020) when the teams received only €3.5M each.

In previous years special bonuses were distributed to the winners, the best player in the game, the best goalkeeper, among others. But these types of bonuses were suspended and all the money was unified in a single payment for the teams.

SEE ALSO | Top 5 Richest Female Footballers In Nigeria And Their Net Worth

Thomas Tuchel’s side will now play in the Club World Cup in December as UEFA Champions League winners.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago