Ghana Premier League winners – Full list

Ghana Premier League winners – Full list
Credit: Icon Sport

The Ghana Premier League is the highest level of professional league football in the country and this article takes a look at the full list of Ghana Premier League winners.

It has been in existence before the independence of Ghana – which makes it even older than the West African country itself.

The Ghana Premier League was formed officially in 1956 after the last Gold Coast Club competition was held in 1953-1954. Currently, the league is organised by the Ghana Football Association (GFA). According to the IFFHS rankings, it was ranked the 11th best league on the continent from 2001-2010.

Just like every other football league across the world, the Ghana Premier League has been dominated largely by Asante Kotoko of Kumasi and Accra Hearts of Oak.

According to its current format, the top two teams will qualify for the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, while the three relegated teams drop to the Division One League.

The Ghana Premier League has enjoyed a bit of consistency since 1967, but due to a crisis at the GFA, the 2018 season was abandoned, while the 2019-20 season was cancelled because of COVID-19.

As we look forward to the start of the 2023/24 League season and ahead of the Ghana Premier League fixtures, we take a look at the past winners of the GPL.

 List of winners by clubs

Asante Kotoko (24)

The kumasi giants have dominated the Ghana Premier league with real authority. The Ashanti region-based side enjoyed success in the 90s and after a short blip, they returned to the highest level of Ghanaian football in the new century.

Asante Kotoko last won the Ghana Premier League in 2022 and will be aiming for another success in 2024.

Hearts of Oak (21)

The Phobians won the inaugural edition of the Ghana Premier League and have been the eternal rivals of Asante Kotoko. In fact, only the two giants have amassed league titles in double digits.

The Accra-based side last won the Ghana Premier League in 2021 and will be among the front runners for the title this coming season.

Ashanti Gold (4)

Ashanti Gold sit in a distant third with a paltry four league titles to their name. After winning three consecutive titles between 1994 and 1996, the Miners claimed national success in 2015 and have not made an impact since then.

Great Olympics & Aduana Stars (2)

Great Olympics claimed both title wins in the 1970s and have not been equally great since that time. As for Aduana Stars, they are some of the first-time winners in the 2010s and their last win came in 2017.

The likes of Eleven Wise (1960), Real Republicans (1963), Mysterious Dwarfs (1967), Sekondi Hasaacas (1977), Berekum Chelsea (2011), Legon Cities (2016) and Medeama (2023) are the other solitary winners of the Ghana Premier League.

Full list of winners

1956: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1957: no winner

1958: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1959: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1960: Eleven Wise (Sekondi-Takoradi)

1961–62: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1962–63: Real Republicans (Accra)

1963–64: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1964–65: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1966: Abandoned

1967: Mysterious Dwarves (Cape Coast)

1967–68: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1969: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1970: Great Olympics (Accra)

1971: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1972: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1973: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1974: Great Olympics (Accra)

1975: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1976: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1977: Sekondi Hasaacas (Sekondi)

1978: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1979: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1980: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1981: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1982: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1983: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1984: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1985: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1986: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1987: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1988–89: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1989–90: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1990–91: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1991–92: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1992–93: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

1993–94: Goldfields (Obuasi)

1994–95: Goldfields (Obuasi)

1995–96: Goldfields (Obuasi)

1996–97: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1997–98: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

1999: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2000: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2001: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2002: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2003: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2004–05: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2005: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2006–07: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2007–08: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2008–09: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2009–10: Aduana Stars (Dormaa)

2010–11: Berekum Chelsea (Berekum)

2011–12: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2012–13: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2013–14: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2015: Ashanti Gold (Obuasi)

2016: Wa All Stars (Wa)

2017: Aduana Stars (Dormaa)

2018: Abandoned[a]

2019:Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) – GFA Normalisation Committee Special Competition

2019–20: Abandoned

2020–21: Hearts of Oak (Accra)

2021–22: Asante Kotoko (Kumasi)

2022–23: Medeama (Tarkwa)

This article was most recently revised and updated 8 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!