List of CAF Champions League winners from inception

List of CAF Champions League winners from inception
Credit: Iconsport

The CAF Champions League has undergone remarkable changes in its format, prize money, sponsorship, and branding since its inception in 1965.

This prestigious club competition brings together the league champions from all member associations of the Confederation of African Football (CAF), along with the top-performing clubs from the strongest leagues. 

In this article, we'll explore the history of the CAF Champions League and highlight the clubs and countries that have achieved the most titles.

How does the CAF Champions League work?

The competition is open to the league champions of all member associations of the Confederation of African Football. Additionally, it is also open to the clubs finishing second in the strongest leagues according to the CAF 5-Year Ranking. Furthermore, the defending champions of the competition are eligible to participate as well.

The CAF Champions League operates primarily as a knockout competition, with trim-down qualification rounds, a group stage, a two-legged knockout stage and a two-legged final. At the start of the competition, the 64 qualified teams enter 2 qualification rounds: the preliminary stage and the first round.

The tournament was known as the African Cup of Champions Clubs until the 1997 season when it was renamed. Over the years, teams from various nations have fiercely competed for continental glory.

Notably, Al Ahly FC of Egypt stands out as the CAF Champions League most winners in history, clinching the title a record eleven times.

They're currently the CAF Champions League winners 2023, and have won the competition in three of the last four editions as at 2023.

Memorable Triumphs

The 2018-19 edition of the CAF Champions League witnessed ES Tunis emerge as champions after a dramatic turn of events in the final against the moroccan champions Wydad AC. In protest against a disallowed goal, Wydad AC abandoned the May 31st final game, handing ES Tunis their fourth CAFCL title.

A Rich Legacy

The list of past winners reflects the diverse and competitive nature of African football. From the early years of Oryx Douala from Cameroon and Stade Abidjan from Ivory Coast to the recent victories of Wydad AC from Morocco and Al Ahly from Egypt, each champion has left an indelible mark on the history of the tournament. Clubs like TP Mazembe from Congo DR and Zamalek from Egypt have also enjoyed multiple triumphs, showcasing their dominance in African football.

CAF Champions League Winners Since 1995 to 2023

Year Winner
1965 Oryx Douala
1966 Stade Abidjan
1967 TP Mazembe
1968 TP Mazembe
1969 Ismaily
1970 Asante Kotoko
1971 Canon Younde
1972 Hafia FC
1973 AS Vita Club
1974 CARA
1975 Hafia FC
1976 MC Alger
1977 Hafia FC
1978 Canon Younde
1979 Union Sportiva Douala
1980 Canon Younde
1981 JE Tizi-Ouzou
1982 Al Ahly
1983 Asante Kotoko
1984 Zamalek
1985 FAR de Rabat
1986 Zamalek
1987 Al Ahly
1988 ES Setif
1989 Raja Casablanca
1990 JS Kabylie
1991 Club Africain
1992 Wydad AC
1993 Zamalek
1994 Esperance de Tunis
1995 Orlando Pirates
1996 Zamalek
1997 Raja Casablanca
1998 ASEC Mimosas
1999 Raja Casablanca
2000 Hearts of Oak
2001 Al Ahly
2002 Zamalek
2003 Enyimba FC
2004 Enyimba FC
2005 Al Ahly
2006 Al Ahly
2007 Etoile du Sahel
2008 Al Ahly
2009 TP Mazembe
2010 TP Mazembe
2011 Esperance de Tunis
2012 Al Ahly
2013 Al Ahly
2014 ES Setif
2015 TP Mazembe
2016 Mamelodi Sundowns
2017 Wydad AC
2018 Esperance de Tunis
2019 Esperance de Tunis
2020 Al Ahly
2021 Al Ahly
2022 Wydad AC
2023 Al Ahly
2024 Yet to update*


That’s the full list of the CAF Champions League past winners. You can see all their prize money here.

CAF Champions League 2023/24 season

The competition for this campaign is at the group stage as at the time of this update. 

There are a couple of teams in the remaining 16 clubs in the competition that are yet to win the title. These clubs will be eager to overcome the daunting tasks ahead of them.

However, winning the tournament means battling and triumphing over the strong North African teams who have monopolized the title in the last 7 years.

SEE ALSO | Football Streaming Site In Nigeria: The Trusted Top 10

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 months ago

Rababe Koussaimi, a 22-year-old football journalist, is deeply passionate about the world of sports. The Moroccan journalist channels her enthusiasm into writing and conducting extensive research, creating insightful and engaging content for GoalBallLive readers.