Man Utd, Chelsea, Join Liverpool, Man City To Qualify For UCL

Man Utd Chelsea Qualify For UCL

Last updated on

Chelsea and Manchester United have qualified for the Champions League after wins against Wolves and Leicester City respectively.

United needed just a point at Leicester to secure a top-four finish and a 2-0 win grabbed the third place in the Premier League table, level on 66 points with fourth-placed Chelsea, who beat Wolves with two quickfire first-half injury-time goals.

Fifth-placed Leicester, who had been in the top four for the majority of the season, will go into the Europa League group stages along with Tottenham after their point at Crystal Palace was enough to edge Wolves into seventh on goal difference.

Nuno Espirito Santo’s side will now have to wait until the FA Cup final to see whether they will be in Europe – an Arsenal win would see the Gunners take the second qualifying-round place.

But it was misery at the other end of the table, with Bournemouth’s brilliant and brave 3-1 win at Everton not enough to lift them out of the drop zone because of Aston Villa’s nervy point at West Ham.

SEE ALSO | FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List From 1991 To 2019

Watford – who sacked Nigel Pearson two games ago – also fall into the Championship, finishing second-bottom and, like Bournemouth, just a point from safety, after going down 3-2 at Arsenal.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Oseg Hale

Written by Oseg Hale

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.

Add your comment