FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners List From 1991 To 2019

FIFA Women's World Cup Winners List

When was the first women’s World Cup? That and many more you’ll find out in this FIFA Women’s World Cup winners list.

From my article title it’s obvious the women’s World Cup began in 1991 and it’s strictly for the women’s national teams of countries who belong to Fédération Internationale de Football Association … also known as FIFA.

You can see a list of all Nigeria Women footballers here,

That first World Cup in 1991 was won by the USA and hosted by China.

Like the men’s, women’s World Cup is also a quadrennial competition.

SEE ALSO | Asisat Oshoala Biography, House, Daughter, Salary, Age, Net Worth

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup which was the eighth edition, was the first to use the video assistant referee (VAR) system.

United States have won the title the most with a record four times: the inaugural one, the 1999 and 2015 Edition, as well as the last edition in 2019.

Germany, on the other hand, have won the it twice, while Norway and Japan have won the women’s World Cup once each.

It was at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 that Formiga of Brazil and Homare Sawa of Japan created the record of playing in six World Cups.

SEE ALSO | Ghanaian Footballers Abroad Listed In FULL Detail

FIFA Women's World Cup Winners List
Homare Sawa of Japan

You won’t believe that Formiga went on to make a seventh appearance at the 2019 World Cup, becoming the oldest – at the age of 41 –to feature in the tournament when she played against Jamaica.

SEE ALSO | Top 10 Champions League Managers Revealed In Detail

FIFA Women's World Cup Winners List
Brazil Veteran Formiga

In this list of winners of women’s World Cup we take a look at the teams that have won the FIFA Women’s World Cup, when they won it and how many times have they won it?

SEE ALSO | Europa League Winners – The Complete List Since Inception

List Of FIFA Women’s World Cup Champions

2019United StatesNetherlands2-0France
2015United StatesJapan5-2Canada
2011JapanUnited States2-2 (3-1 penalty)Germany
United States
1999United StatesChina0-0 (5-4 penalty)United States
1991United StatesNorway2-1China

That’s the FIFA Women’s World Cup winners list since it’s inauguration till date.

SEE ALSO | Football Club With Most Trophies In The World – Listed FULLY

The next world cup will be hosted by two nations: Australia and New Zealand. It’s already been tagged FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia/New Zealand 2023.

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Notify me of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments