FIFA Under 17 World Cup Winners List: Past And Present

FIFA Under 17 World Cup Winners List

Before I show you what FIFA under 17 world cup winners list look like, let me take you down memory lane a little.

Did you know that what we’ve all come to know as FIFA U-17 World Cup actually began as FIFA U-16 World Championship?

The current name came about in 2007.

Even before 2007 there was also a change in name to FIFA U-17 World Championship in 1991 before we got to where we are now.

It was Joseph “Sepp” Blatter, former FIFA’s secretary-general, who had in 1982 attended Lion City Cup (created by the Football Association of Singapore in 1977) and got influenced by the format that he took the inspiration and created the FIFA U-16 World Cup in 1985.

SEE ALSO | All Jose Mourinho Trophies Listed By Club Till Date

under 17 world cup winners list
Ex-FIFA Secretary-General, Joseph “Sepp” Blatter

SEE ALSO | Ballon d'Or Winners List: From 1956 to Present Day

The first FIFA U-16 World Cup was hosted by China in 1985 and won by the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria.

Coincidentally too,  when it was rechristened FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2007, Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets also won it first.

When the biennial tournament was introduced in 1985, it was meant for players under 16, but in 1991 the age limit was raised to 17.

The last FIFA U-17 World Cup was hosted by Brazil in 2019 and won by the same host nation, beating Mexico 2-1 in the final.

SEE ALSO | UEFA Champions League Winners List: Detailed From Inception Till Date

FIFA Under 17 World Cup Winners List
Brazil win U-17 World Cup title

Now let’s get to some details to see which country has won the Under 17 World Cup most?

Nigeria is the most successful team in this tournaments history.

Yes I know, you’d like to know how many times has Nigeria Under 17 won the World Cup?

The Golden Eaglets have gone home with the title five times (1985, 1993, 2007, 2013 and 2015) and have lost in the final on three other occasions (in 1987, 2001 and 2009).

You can see the under 17 squad that won it for Nigeria in 2015 here. It included Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze.

Brazil at second place with three titles and followed by Ghana and Mexico with two titles under their belts.

Let’s now see our FIFA under 17 World Cup Winners list.

SEE ALSO | Football Club With Most Trophies In The World – Listed FULLY

Under 17 World Cup Winners List

FIFA U-16 World Championship:

YEAR       WINNER                 HOSTED

1985:       Nigeria                      [China]

1987:       Soviet Union           [Canada]

1989:       Saudi Arabia          [Scotland]

SEE ALSO | Top 10 Footballers Who Played For 2 Different Countries

FIFA U-17 World Championship:

1991:       Ghana                      [Italy]

1993:       Nigeria                   [Japan]

1995:       Ghana                     [Ecuador]

1997:       Brazil                     [Egypt]

1999:       Brazil                     [New Zealand]

2001:       France                  [Trinidad and Tabago]

2003:      Brazil                     [Finland]

2005:       Mexico                 [Peru]

SEE ALSO | Liverpool Total Trophies In History Listed By Year

FIFA U-17 World Cup:

2007:       Nigeria                  [South Korea]

2009:       Switzerland          [Nigeria]

2011:       Mexico                    [Mexico]

2013:       Nigeria                   [UAE]

2015:       Nigeria                   [Chile]

2017:       England                  [India]

2019:       Brazil                      [Brazil]

SEE ALSO | FIFA Women's World Cup Winners List From 1991 To 2019

That’s about the 18 countries on our FIFA under 17 World Cup Winners list. All eyes are now set on the country (Peru) that will host the next Under 17 World Cup in 2021.

This article was most recently revised and updated 1 year ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here