UEFA Champions League Winners List: Detailed From Inception Till Date

UEFA Champions League Winners list

Last updated on February 17th, 2020 at 10:27 am

Who has won the Champions League the most times? And who won the first Champions League? These questions and more are been asked by fans and I’m going to answer them with this Champions league winners list article that I’m about to share with you.

First of all, how many times do you think the Champions League has been played? From the record, it shows that the UEFA Champions League has been organised 63 times; every year since 1955. This year’s (2018-19) League will make it 64 times.

SEE ALSO: Europa League Winners – The Complete List Since Inception

Also, who are the Champions League winners? I have made a list of them from inception (1956) to date. But before we get to see who the UEFA Champions League Past winners are, let’s see how it all begun.

If you have been looking for the UEFA champions league winners list that will show you all the winners, runners-up, the coaches who guided the teams to glory, how many times each club and coach won the title and so on, from inception till date then you need to read on.


UEFA Champions League, which we usually prefer calling the Champions League, is an annual cup competition put together by Union of European Football Associations [UEFA] for top football clubs across Europe.

The Champions League kicked off in the year 1955, and it wasn’t until 1992 that the tournament was rechristened from the European Cup or European Champions’ Cup (officially European Champion Clubs’ Cup) to Champions League.

Until recently, i.e. the 2013-14 season to be précised, that was the first time the tournament allowed teams from the same city to feature. Same clubs faced each other again in 2016 final, and in 2000 season, two Spanish teams battled in the final, however, they were from different cities.


From the inception of the Champions League, Real Madrid is the club who has won the title the most, after being crowned 13 times including the introductory competition in 1956. The other three clubs who have come close to Real are AC Milan (7), FC Bayern München (5), as well as Liverpool who has the same record as Bayern, winning it five times too.

The 2018-19 Champions League final is expected to be played at the Wanda Metropolitano stadium in Madrid.

What teams have won the Champions League? Let’s find out as we take a look at the UEFA Champions League Winners list table.

SEE ALSO: Highest Goal Scorers in Champions League – The Complete List

See the list of all Champions League winners since 1956 below.


 UEFA Champions League
18/19 Liverpool FCJürgen Klopp
17/18 Real MadridZinédine Zidane
16/17 Real MadridZinédine Zidane
15/16 Real MadridZinédine Zidane
14/15 FC BarcelonaLuis Enrique
13/14 Real MadridCarlo Ancelotti
12/13 Bayern MunichJupp Heynckes
11/12 Chelsea FCRoberto Di Matteo
10/11 FC BarcelonaPep Guardiola
09/10 FC InternazionaleJosé Mourinho
08/09 FC BarcelonaPep Guardiola
07/08 Manchester UnitedSir Alex Ferguson
06/07 AC MilanCarlo Ancelotti
05/06 FC BarcelonaFrank Rijkaard
04/05 Liverpool FCRafael Benítez
03/04 FC PortoJosé Mourinho
02/03 Milan ACCarlo Ancelotti
01/02 Real MadridVicente del Bosque
00/01 Bayern MunichOttmar Hitzfeld
99/00 Real MadridVicente del Bosque
98/99 Manchester UnitedSir Alex Ferguson
97/98 Real MadridJupp Heynckes
96/97 Borussia DortmundOttmar Hitzfeld
95/96 Juventus FCMarcello Lippi
94/95 Ajax AmsterdamLouis van Gaal
93/94 Milan ACFabio Capello
92/93 Olympique MarseilleRaymond Goethals
 European Champion Clubs’ Cup
91/92 FC BarcelonaJohan Cruijff
90/91 Red Star BelgradeLjupko Petrovic
89/90 Milan ACArrigo Sacchi
88/89 Milan ACArrigo Sacchi
87/88 PSV EindhovenGuus Hiddink
86/87 FC PortoArtur Jorge
85/86 Steaua BukarestEmerich Jenei
84/85 Juventus FCGiovanni Trapattoni
83/84 Liverpool FCJoe Fagan
82/83 Hamburger SVErnst Happel
81/82 Aston VillaTony Barton
80/81 Liverpool FCBob Paisley
79/80 Nottingham ForestBrian Clough
78/79 Nottingham ForestBrian Clough
77/78 Liverpool FCBob Paisley
76/77 Liverpool FCBob Paisley
75/76 Bayern MunichDettmar Cramer
74/75 Bayern MunichDettmar Cramer
73/74 Bayern MunichUdo Lattek
72/73 Ajax AmsterdamStefan Kovacs
71/72 Ajax AmsterdamStefan Kovacs
70/71 Ajax AmsterdamRinus Michels
69/70 RV & AV FeijenoordErnst Happel
68/69 Milan ACNereo Rocco
67/68 Manchester UnitedSir Matt Busby
66/67 Celtic FCJock Stein
65/66 Real MadridMiguel Munoz
64/65 FC InternazionaleHelenio Herrera
63/64 FC InternazionaleHelenio Herrera
62/63 Milan ACNereo Rocco
61/62 SL BenficaBéla Guttmann
60/61 SL BenficaBéla Guttmann
59/60 Real MadridMiguel Munoz
58/59 Real MadridLuis Carniglia
57/58 Real MadridLuis Carniglia
56/57 Real MadridJosé Villalonga
55/56 Real MadridJosé Villalonga

That is all UEFA Champions League winners from inception till date.

SEE ALSO: Champions League Referees 2018/2019 List – Statistical Overview & Appearances

UEFA Champions League Winners Table: RECORD WINNERS


13Real Madrid
7AC Milan
6Liverpool FC
5Bayern München
 FC Barcelona
4AFC Ajax
 Manchester United
2FC Porto
 Nottingham Forest
 SL Benfica
1Aston Villa
 Borussia Dortmund
 Celtic FC
 Chelsea FC
 Crvena Zvezda
 Hamburger SV
 Olympique Marseille
 PSV Eindhoven
 Steaua Bucureşti

Which manager has won the Champions League the most? Let’s find out from the table below:

UEFA Champions League Winners Records: VICTORY COACHES

SEE ALSO: Top 10 Richest Clubs In The World – See Their Current Worth

Zinédine Zidane3
Carlo Ancelotti3
Bob Paisley3
Jupp Heynckes2
Pep Guardiola2
José Mourinho2
Sir Alex Ferguson2
Vicente del Bosque2
Ottmar Hitzfeld2
Arrigo Sacchi2
Ernst Happel2
Brian Clough2
Dettmar Cramer2
Stefan Kovacs2
Nereo Rocco2
Miguel Munoz2
Helenio Herrera2
Béla Guttmann2
Luis Carniglia2
José Villalonga2
Jürgen Klopp1
Luis Enrique1
Roberto Di Matteo1
Frank Rijkaard1
Rafael Benítez1
Marcello Lippi1
Louis van Gaal1
Fabio Capello1
Raymond Goethals1
Johan Cruijff1
Ljupko Petrovic1
Guus Hiddink1
Artur Jorge1
Emerich Jenei1
Giovanni Trapattoni1
Joe Fagan1
Tony Barton1
Udo Lattek1
Rinus Michels1
Sir Matt Busby1
Jock Stein1

That is the UEFA champions league winners list table as it stands as at today.
See more soccer stories below:

Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Oseg Hale

Written by Oseg Hale

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *